Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Lava Miner

by AlexaCol - Jam Entry

The game is about a miner that dug into hell by accident, now you need to survive by squashing the monsters and not touching the lava.
Controls: you control your character by using the A and D buttons.

Goal: Don't touch the lava floor. As the game progresses less enemies will spawn so you'll need to start saving enemies.
When the flaming enemies reach their spawn again they will be destroyed.
When they reach the other spawn they will grow.

The game might have resizing problems so I'm sorry in advance for that.
1152x648 windowed works the best from what I've tested.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#512Humor(Jam)2.65
#552Theme(Jam)3.63
#581Fun(Jam)3.08
#665Audio(Jam)2.46
#703Graphics(Jam)3.08
#864Overall(Jam)2.91
#889Innovation(Jam)2.52
#894Mood(Jam)2.57
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Funny little game! Looks good and feels good, but the bigger enemies actually make it easier...

vogon101 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:25pm

A bit easy but really fun all the same

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:25pm

It`s a very cool game, I really liked it :)

zguerrero says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Simple and addictive! cool game!

walaber says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Fun, simple, nicely done!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00pm

"broing", "broing", "broing"
Gotta squash em all right? ;)
Got to say that the game was quite easy after I realized you can wall hang infinite amount of time, waiting for new enemies to appear.
Nice game overall!

AlexaCol says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Yes I should have noticed the wallhang but it was a school night so I'm happy that I even managed to finish the game :D !

paulfysh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:37pm

The miner reminds me of a mister man. Also love how he came prepared with a lava proof pogo stick. Thats a fellow who has everything...

luysse_l says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:19pm

it's funny

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Fun game, it was enjoyable to play.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Great work. Small funny game.

scorched says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Nice!

hunttis says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:35am

On the easy side, but a very nice little game.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Interesting concept! I could see this being made into a really addictive game.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:16pm

Cute little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/6QI1ZQ7v1fA

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:42pm

Awesome entry
Cool mechanics

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]