Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Face Off: Retrieve Your Face

by epicTCK - Jam Entry

Wish it was longer, but I was running short on time.
There should be music, but github pages deleted it for me.... ):
The music works now. It is a little of taste, but it helps lighten things up. What do you think??
EDIT- yeah the music needs to go. I wish I didn't fix that bug.... :(
===============================
I'm 14 years old and this is my third game - ever. It's my firs LD. Hope you like it.
Controls:
left: left arrow
right: right arrow
jump: left + right arrows
crouch: left + right arrows while on pipe
pipes are the orange line things (:
This was made with the phaser game engine.
Dont judge my code please, it's completely rushed (:

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#717Humor(Jam)2.26
#781Theme(Jam)3.33
#879Fun(Jam)2.67
#961Innovation(Jam)2.33
#971Mood(Jam)2.30
#983Overall(Jam)2.71
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:56am

The game is beatable, if u need help just ask (:

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:56am

Very nice work. Congrats on the effort. I will say that I did manage to break the first level (I think?). I managed to somehow push the crate over where I think it was supposed to go: http://d.pr/i/1eNRU

Really fun though! Clever use of the two buttons to add a jump in as well. I also made my first game using Phaser, and yours definitely has a ton more cool things. :)

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:15pm

This was originally going to be 5 levels, and if you check the code, there are remnants of a bad guy to fight... the ping animation is actualy punching (: Bt hey, just like most other people, I bit off more than I could chew, so this is all I've made (:

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:51pm

I'm really impressed, great work, and you are only 14! Congrats! I like the theme and the universe, it's clear and done with taste. I'm waiting to see what you'll do in the future.

johanw123 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Not bad, had some issues with collision and pushing someties. Good use of just 2 buttons

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Good effort! Controls are very tight and don't offer much room for error! I was not able to progress after the second set of boxes, because they were pushed off the platform and into a hole! Keep working at it!

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Yeah thats the point fist maker.... Keep trying you'll figure it out and beat it eventually

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:04pm

OH! And i have music now! just fix that! it was a bug

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:38pm

The gameplay feels rather stiff and unnatural, and the music creates some serious clashing in the mood IMO, with the music being cheery and upbeat and the graphics being of a dark and grey city area. That said, for a third game, this isn't THAT bad. Heck, my third game was a WHOLE lot worse.

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:42pm

yeah i need change the music. Dont know if I can do that legally according to LD rules, probably not... I was so tired last night when I picked out the music I just wanted something to cheer me up lol now I'm thinking otherwise..

donvermo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:27pm

nice concept but very buggy (Or I have a talent for breaking things) I got stuck twice in two minutes by pushing (or failing to) object in places.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:50pm

A tad wonky and buggy, but there's definitely potential.

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:37pm

it wouldn't be hard (read 'fun') if you always pushed the crates in the right place. "that's not a bug, that's a feature"

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Pretty good for your first game! Pretty good graphics (I particularly like the PC and the background), entertaining tune. Gameplay is pretty much your average platformer with some puzzle elements, but the controls work (could do with less float when jumping) and the ending was pretty funny.

psychonull says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:05am

Great graphics and niceuse of theme :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]