Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Trash Mountain

by teamross - Jam Entry

Escape to safety from this rubbish rain, grab and drop trash to make your mountain grow and reach the top of a building !!!

A game for Ludum Dare 34 "Growing".

Fix:
People struggle to complete even the easiest of the levels, so we decided to upload a little fix.

- Only trash that falls from the sky can kill you (no more wild pizza box deaths!).

Have fun and look up the sky!


Controls:
A-D to move.
W to jump.
Left Mouse Click to grab/drop things in the direction you are facing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#205Innovation(Jam)3.58
#223Humor(Jam)3.27
#434Fun(Jam)3.24
#463Audio(Jam)3.12
#565Overall(Jam)3.27
#634Graphics(Jam)3.21
#671Mood(Jam)3.03
#691Theme(Jam)3.48

Comments

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Fun and clever! I wasn't ever able to reach the top of the building, though. Definitely an interesting idea! You should consider working on it post-jam and releasing!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:34pm

cool concept, it's very easy to be killed at random, sometimes it gets frustrating. Nevertheless it's a nice game

teamross says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Thanks!I will speak of it with my two friends to continue on the game.

I agree with you, a bit difficult sometimes, we should work in that difficulty line.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Pretty difficult game, seeing as it's hard to dodge items falling on your head. Otherwise, kinda fun.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Ended up killing myself most of the time I picked up trash. Fun concept, needs some more tweaking.

teamross says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Yep, need a lot of more work, is annoying to die by itself when drop a trash. Thanks all for the feedback!

tayl1r says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Cool idea! I am absolutely rubbish (sorry) at this. Get my little pile going and then I'm taken out by a stray pizza box.

teamross says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:30am

We call them Pizza HIT, instead of pizza HUT x)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Good fun game but is really hard sometimes i see the appeal keep improving :D

newbeings says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Really nice - i love the physics interactions - really tightly made - didn't see any bugs. Does the rain actually do anything? I like the particles when the trash hits the ground. My suggestion is getting rid of mouse click - i think it'd be more fun if you just picked up the closest thing you are next to that you are facing rather than having to click on the object to pick it up.

teamross says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:08pm

We didn't want to abuse the physics engine giving the small trash colliders too, so they ended up being just props.

Yeah, no mouse was an option too. Keyboard only may be a little too clunky when there are lots of objects in a single mountain. But thanks for the suggestion :)

Darkflint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Gnar, i almost reached the top but then there came too much down -.- Well, a good game anyway

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:30am

Nice concept with great game mecanics. But there are some bugs. Many frustrations, but it's part of your game!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Similar to The Incident. Nice implementation, physics based stuff is always hard to pull off. Nice.

teamross says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:06pm

We didn't knew The Incident, thanks for the tip!

Look up to the sky! Since the fix, the game is much easier now :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:49pm

The concept is awesome, but maybe a little hard (you updated it I see,now the gameplay is better). I love the music and the idea, nice job :-)

redmassacre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Cool mechanics, you've got flow) .
I wasn't able to reach the top of the building at the childish - but i liked it a lot.
Polish and release, i believe in this game )

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:08am

Easy mode just seems slower but concept is cool.

richardboegli says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:48am

Fun, Well done. Found myself killing myself accidentally when trying to move items into the pile.

alliel_a says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:41am

nice game

Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Cool game, very funny. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/EztdlDzFrUE

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]