Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dwarf's Rage

by in3orn - Compo Entry

Dwarf's Rage matches both categories: Growing and Two button controls

Controls:
1. Move left
2. Move right

Growing:
1. Dwarf's rage is growing when he kills the goblins. Rage makes him faster and stronger. Thus he can breach bigger obstacles.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#115Audio3.58
#185Humor3.09
#517Mood2.91
#552Overall3.15
#586Fun3.00
#688Graphics2.70
#759Theme3.33
#840Innovation2.44

Comments

deadpixl says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Pretty cool infinite runner concept. Really liked the music!

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Cool game! Did you record the music yourself? Not bad.

WolvesOfOdin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Challenging.

onilink_ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Fun concept, but the vision area is really too short...

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:23pm

I loved the music! You play so well! Nice mechanics and gameplay, but what really catches my attention was the song! Well made!

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Nice job with the music.

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:44pm

I got 5558.

I am embarrassed to admit the first five or so games I played completely backwards, dodging the goblins and smashing open crates (since that's the usual way to go!) and felt reassured that my character was not getting angry.

After suddenly dying a few times I started to realize I had it all backwards, and that crates are bad, goblin impacts good, and rage desirable!

Also, I learned that goblins sound kind of like cats.

Oh, and the song! Almost forgot to say that it's awesome you recorded a live song on acoustic guitar, nice work.

in3orn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Thanks for all comments ^^

@Dooskington
Yes, I've recorded all the sounds with my mobile. Fortunately I also play a guitar, so it helped a lot :)

@onilink
I've tried to make this game fair for all platforms. I'll think about the improvements.

@pkenney
Sorry for that. I should add some info about the logic, but this time limit... But your final score is pretty high! gz! :)

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:15pm

It's really hopeless to see, please move the character to the bottom of the screen

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Oh and the camera is too shaky

makiki99 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Good game, just a few complaints:
- Vision radius is too small and it makes it hard to react to ANYTHING.
- Just try to hold one direction - you will bounce out of wall and slow down until you release your finger off the screen
- A little bit too dark sprites. May be a personal preference though.

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:28pm

This is a nice little game, I like the music and simplistic art, very nicely done!

RhysD says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:26am

Nice concept, was a bit hard because the player was in the middle of the screen and the time to react was quite fast. It crashed after I entered the glowing door.

Mantlair says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:48pm

I am a simple dwarf. I see rage. I press like.

Meta-link says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Fun runner !
You did a nice use of the theme, even if sometimes it's not clear what you can go into or not.
Good job !

elizeu says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Cool. Good job!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]