Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

AGENT 007

by DominoGames - Jam Entry

My first LD Entry
TO START THE GAME YOU NEED TO PRESS Z
ALL CONTROLS ARE WITH X AND Z
PLEASE KEEP IN MIND THIS GAME IS UNFINISHED.
Didnt manage to get a lot done,but i hope you enjoy it anyways.
Its an Atari 2600 style infinite runner you need to shoot the enemies before they kill you and need to jump over landmines(well at least that was the plan)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#883Theme(Jam)3.13
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

Ludum34 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Doesn't work...

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:20pm

How can I play? I got stuck in the first screen

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:29pm

What are the controls?

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:32pm

For the title screen freeze I think you only have to press x or c to start the game!

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Ah, unfortunately Windows won't let me play it.

DominoGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:45pm

press z to start

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:15am

kind of easy, i like the concept but I think you should make it a little bit more difficult, maybe different enemy types and patterns, and also I didn't like that you kill all of the enemies on screen at once =O its a good idea though and I hope you finish it! the atari style is pretty good :)

micky says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:39am

nice little shooter, took me ages to start the game haha 'z' the last key i pressed :)

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:29pm

good mehanik

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:37am

Overall the game is simple and fun to play and uses both themes in a way, two buttons, and grow because pushing both at the same time your jumping lenght grows, but it could be more polished. It gave us really good oldies waves tho. Perhaps a little explanation of the controls in the first screen!

anv says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Nice throwback to classic Atari games. Gameplay is too easy compared to its spiritual predecessors and game could use more variation (more obstacles and enemies).

OadT says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:40am

I can't download your game :(

OadT says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Okay, now it worked :) Congratulation for finishing your game! The game is simple but fun even if its a bit buggy, but I suspect thats because the time limit ;) (It's also a bit weird on a QWERTZ Keyboard :P )

Neonlare says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:48am

Nice shooter, but next time can you export it as a stand alone executable and not an installer? It just makes it easier in the future.

As for the gameplay, it's pretty fun and simple, a lil buggy for a first entry it's pretty damn solid man, impressive man :).

Hjalte500 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:48pm

If you just spam z & x you're invincible. Also the score doesnt count? Try making it so you cant jump until you're actually on the ground.. Would be a good start.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]