Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

César Swing

by ooku - Jam Entry

Hardcore rhythm platformer with two button controls and a flower growing mechanic.

Groove your way to the top,
colect bees to grow flowers
and help César (a mirror ball) to get the golden laurel wreath.

Featuring the song 'wormy' performed by César Swing
Doublebass and Composition: Jonas Künzli
Guitar: Valentin Baumgartner
Electric Guitar: David Heizmann
Saxophone: Andi Bissig
Drums: Samuel Messerli

other projects: http://ooku.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#77Audio(Jam)3.96
#200Theme(Jam)4.04
#336Innovation(Jam)3.38
#339Humor(Jam)2.95
#426Mood(Jam)3.32
#487Overall(Jam)3.35
#701Fun(Jam)2.92
#741Graphics(Jam)3.00
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

AlexLemminG says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Too hard for me, couldn't go through that fast moving platforms

ooku says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:22am

yeah I know it's very hard.
I'm currently working on an easy mode

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Good game, I liked the music. It did take me around a dozen tries to get past the moving platforms though.

zatch says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:23am

I played the post-jam version first, so I'll say I was sold before I played the harder jam version. Great scores all around, especially for audio and mood! Would have given an extra star for fun if easy mode made it in for the jam. ;) Really well done all around!

ooku says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:15pm

@zatch and renegadeninjanl: thanks!
it was the first time I tried to do level design like this and I guess I did the same mistake as everyone does in the beginning: make it too hard...

Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:02pm

The controls were very difficult to understand at first for me. Probably not because they are so difficult, but because they reacted with a severe lag...

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:26pm

The moving platforms need to be slower!

ooku says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:22pm

@gebirgsbaerbel: it's not a lag, it is a rhythm game. did you turn on the music?

ooku says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:22pm

@x92rwzb: you can try the easy mode in the post-jam version

Xanjos says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Pretty hard but I really liked the rhythm-based platformer mechanics.

banana4life says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:19am

Gosh that is hard... even the post-jam easy version. Very creative however and fantastic music. Apparently I'm just to bad :/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]