Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Worm Massacre

by shiny - Jam Entry

My teammate and I's entry for the Ludam Dare 34 jam. We chose to use both themes, Growing and 2 Button Controls. It's a game where you must grow and survive for as long as possible.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#150Theme(Jam)4.10
#251Fun(Jam)3.50
#435Overall(Jam)3.40
#450Humor(Jam)2.75
#646Innovation(Jam)2.95
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#839Graphics(Jam)2.75
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

LMT says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:22pm

That was a pretty cool game, and I liked that it implemented both themes. It was really addicting, and the sound effects and graphics were simple but effective.

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:04am

I'm sorry, I can't rate Windows games!

tazdij says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:13am

I thought it was overall a fun couple minutes.

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:17am

Really great job! There should be an indication for when a ship is about to come from offscreen though as it can lead to some unfair hits with the particularly fast ships. I also find it odd how your size can still decrease while in metal mode. Really fun game! Would love to see it expanded upon!

realbogart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:20am

I really liked this one! The game has a badass rhythm

Score: 7455

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:00am

It took me a bit to figure what was going on and what I should do, but once I did it started to be quite fun :)

Music was nice although slightly repetitive.

CremaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:51am

Wow, really liked this game. The idea of growing and getting smaller when you get hit or when you shoot is great. And it's always great to eat some humans in space :P Congratulations!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:04am

Good take on both themes! I like the graphics also
Nice!

Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Neat game, i like the graphics. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/i8PM6O3S2Ao

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]