Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Jumper Duck

by Coherence - Compo Entry

This is my first game ever. I am not a software engineer and have little knowledge of this type of programming. I also did not spend as much time as I intended on this over the weekend. I understand it is very very basic and barely even a game. Mostly I just wanted to submit SOMETHING.

Controls are Up button to move up and Down button to move down.

You will lose points for hitting spikes and gain points over time. Eventually there seems to be a bug where spikes stop spawning.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2253Coolness17%

Comments

bentglasstube says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:29am

Never give up.

Never surrender.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:33am

Hey, congrats on finishing your first game and entering it. Everybody had to start somewhere. One suggestion I might have though, would be to let the user know the rules of the game or the controls, maybe even on this page in the games description.

Coherence says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:30am

This is a great comment Jimmothy. Thanks!

CheesyRamen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:55pm

For a first game, not bad!
Don't give up, and keep on making games!
Remember, all great game developers started from somewhere!

Ace says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Congratulations on submitting your first game, easily beats some of the games I've played on here so far.
I would suggest throwing in some more effects on the game if you plan on improving it, make it more clear when you're doing something bad - like say touching a spike. Either throw some particles or put a slight red tone on the screen, doesn't have to be very in-your-face.
Another suggestion would be to always drop the spikes on the furthest right of the screen, don't know if that was a bug or intended but it felt a bit weird to have obstacles appear behind you were they couldn't do anything at all.
I would suggest a simple improvement of moving the chandeliers as well, just have them scrolling at the same rate as the spikes and drop them back in when they disappear off screen, helps the illusion of movement.

Overall a great example of a first game, certainly better than the first ones I made.

Coherence says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Thanks Ramen!

Coherence says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Ace - thanks for the support! These are all great suggestions and I will implement them!

alliel_a says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:41am

nice game

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Congrats on making your first game, it may be the hardest step to game development!
Your game needs a game over, otherwise it's cool enough for a firsty.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]