Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cheese Mountain

by Rumpelcita - Jam Entry

You are a group of mice trying to reach the cheese.

Powered by Phaser and made with <3

Changelog:

- Fixed fonts for windows users.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#225Theme(Jam)4.00
#247Humor(Jam)3.18
#455Fun(Jam)3.22
#608Overall(Jam)3.22
#642Mood(Jam)3.06
#657Innovation(Jam)2.94
#741Graphics(Jam)3.00
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:19pm

I got it in 37 mice!

It was a bit tough stacking the mice together, since they didn't stick very well and their bodies slid around. I've had the same troubles with Phaser's arcade physics, so I get where you're coming from there.

Regardless, thanks for uploading! It was sweet!

Tuism says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Ooooh, I like this one :)

It's very rough around the edges, could do with a lot more love in the details, but I dig the concept.

- the trick with bumping the left to straighten out the stack seems cheap
- the mice should be less slidey
- the mice could be more alive and do different things
- more variety in general
- the way the mice disappeared if they don't stack seemed like a waste, like they could be doing something else.

Like the concept! :)

rantt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Creative use of both themes. I enjoyed it, good job!

dekart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Very well done, simple but challenging, had a lot of fun trying to beat it :)

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:42am

Fun game. I really liked it, though I do feel the sliding against the wall to straighten everything up ruined the challenge. The physics could use some work, but I'm happy to see how you got along with Phaser. I used Phaser as well, but I didn't really do anything with the physics. This was a good example of what could be done, so I'm happy.

Good work!

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:18am

I didn't understand how the physics were working at all here, and I had trouble getting more than 4 stacked. It seemed like when I moved one direction the mice would start falling off *more* in that direction, which isn't how I'd expect momentum to work at all. Nice idea though!

ac7 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:42am

I liked this game. Simple, but fun.

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:32am

Pro:
+ Nice take on theme
+ Very cute concept and graphics
+ Simple but fun
Con:
- Physics was a bit weird, but I guess it's the engine

Great job!

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:23pm

Great idea, good use of thems. Really funny to play

rzuf says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:49pm

Really fun! Got it with 39 mice the first time, and after getting the cheese for the second time the game froze. :D Walls are handy, huh.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]