Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Blokkenslat

by jewagenaar - Compo Entry

Objective:

Find the key to unlock the door to the next level. Try to survive and see how deep you can go into the dungeon.

Controls:

+ Right Arrow :: Turn Right / Attack
+ Left Arrow :: Turn Left / Block
+ Both at the same time :: Move Forward / Unlock Door

http://jewagenaar.itch.io/blokkenslat

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#196Humor3.06
#317Theme3.92
#329Mood3.19
#379Graphics3.29
#393Innovation3.29
#401Overall3.33
#501Fun3.13
#520Audio2.57
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Great controls, innovation. Input delay drove me a bit nuts.

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Little tip about gamers: they are lazy. :p Basically by spam pressing left and right you can win every fight without having to actively think about it.

Janacek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:04am

The controls made me a bit confused, like when I want to go forward, I turn :(

But still, had fun, and I liked the graphics :D

benjaml says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:14am

Cool game, inputs have a little delay and I think it would be cool to have a background music, but still a very cool game ^^. Great job!

misteak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:31am

Fun game, nice and simple graphical style :)

Would be nice if enemies had different attack patterns.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:55am

moving forwards didn't always work, but I am quite surprised it managed to work as well as it did, kudos.

graphics were a bit simple, but did overall fit the theme of the game, very nostalgic with a subtle modern take.

I had fun playing this, and ended playing for longer than I had imagined, great job :)

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:02pm

The shield sometimes didn't deploy despite me mashing left :\
Hint to other players: Hold both keys until you actually move forward!

Adam Gould says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Nice idea, I enjoyed the art style and the feel of it, although it was a bit too easy to win every fight just by mashing both buttons. Well done though!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Amusing character sprites. Given that on L3 the key was next to the door I assumed the levels are generated and I could exit without guilt.
With this LD I hope we all learned that 2 controls are not enough. This game would be more fun with a more normal input method, hope you'll make a post-compo / follow up version!

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Cool game. I really liked playing it

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]