Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Look Back

by PeteDS - Compo Entry

First Ludum Dare, let's see how this goes....

You come home to find a letter from your wife on the floor and a messages scrawled on the wall. Time to escape...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#175Mood3.47
#274Graphics3.50
#423Audio2.75
#498Theme3.71
#805Overall2.81
#820Innovation2.50
#892Fun2.36
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:26am

First entry I've played with a story/narrative-focus. Interesting. I wonder who is coming for them. Zombies? Nazis? Zombie Nazis?

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Liked the graphix a lot and mood of the game
But didn't like at all the camera behavior
and music, which sounds good, but it's very very short
and at the end of the game it had started to annoy a little bit

endel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:58pm

I would like to play, there is no Web/Mac builds? :(

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:52pm

the art and the narrative setup has a nice feel to it, there are a few issues with the game however, The camera has a tendency to stick to the back not allowing you to see whats up ahead. I also had trouble reading what I could stand on and not, especially on buildings with the windowsills. I like that the game has a beginning and ending, that ties it up very neatly and gave me a nice note to end the game on :) A nice first entry i would say ;)

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:01am

That music wow , did you make that? i loved the riff

the game was nice simple controls worked well :)

Well Done!

shadow64 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:29am

Congrats on your first LD! I would echo some of what's already been said. It looks like the viewport for the later rooms weren't adjusted so your player is constantly at the edge of the screen instead of the middle like in the first two. It's an easy bug to get in GameMaker, so I don't hold that against you. The game is pretty short and sweet and the controls fit the theme, so well done! Congrats on finishing and welcome!

daveh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:42am

I'm getting the sense that they're running from Nazis? You managed to create a lot of atmosphere, which was good. Solid and complete for a first LD entry. Good job. :-)

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:30pm

I found it a bit scary to provide the game administrative rights for my computer. Would it be possible to create an executable which doesn't require admin-rights?

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Sorry, any app randomly asking permission to do stuff with my computer is not getting it. Can you setup the gamemaker exe to be stand-alone?

Gipzo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Very hard to see where to jump,
But atmospheric and pretty interesting to play )

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Nice :)
Best mood for me so far, the audio was a nice touch
good job

Kushulain says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:18pm

There is a lot of work given to the graphics, the background and the music. You really introduced an attractive universe here. Some more look into the gameplay and camera would have been great.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Pretty nice, took me a few tries to finish it, kept hoping it was short because dying took you to the very beginning so heh, glad it was short from that point of view :)

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:46pm

The controls are cleverly made, the game runs well, and, was I running from nazis? ;)

uthamon says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:54pm

Narrative game are so rare in LD, I'm glad I've played yours because of the atmosphere you created. Good job.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:31pm

I liked the look. Except I think some better cues to distinguish what was a platform and what wasn't would help. The music, though not bad, didn't invoke "Run" to me. Great job for a first entry.

IAmSpencer says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:44am

simple idea, but a fun little game, nice job :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]