Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grrrrrowing

by redmassacre - Jam Entry

Little ghost doesn't want to go to school and to grrrrrrow up.
He wants to search for treasures and be forever young.

Controls.
Left Mouse Button - to send little ghost to the point.
Right Mouse Button - to teleport
R- restart the room
Q- exit the game

You've got 1 minute to raid the castle.
Beware of grrrrrrown-ups.

P.S. I've corrected teleport a little bit after jam
Now the ghost teleports to the mouse direction (not the facing since it's smth simultaneusly correcting due to autopath)

Here is the link http://bit.ly/1PaBnJZ

Music by Spuro123
https://soundcloud.com/spuro123/1two3-dungeon-12

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#330Humor(Jam)2.97
#502Innovation(Jam)3.16
#513Audio(Jam)3.00
#619Fun(Jam)3.03
#668Overall(Jam)3.16
#746Mood(Jam)2.93
#883Theme(Jam)3.13

Comments

refreshgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:39am

Hey, this game was really good fun to play!

The indirect controls got a little while to get used to but really add to the strategy in playing through the game.

Some entertaining noises, sfx and bgm. I never knew ghosts could growl!

RoynLimb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:49am

Not bad, I like the concept on how to move, but for me the controls I felt like were messed up. It could just be me, but I felt that my character wouldn't obey my commands. At first I thought it was one of my mice plugged in, so I disconnected one (which crashed the game unexpectedly; don't worry I don't think it would be fair to judge on that and I have not) I see you stuck to the two button control theme; the harder of the two if you ask me, so good job there.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:42pm

nice game!

yhsper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:48pm

The game has a cool concept, and it's always nice to see a platforming A* like this working :) To me, the controls were kinda frustrating, but they worked. Graphics and SFX are pretty basic. I'd love to see a more polished version of this game!

jomomomo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Can't play windows games.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:08pm

I like the concept ^^. I love the music. Sometimes controls seems aleatory.

Overall it's a nice game

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Cool entry man. Really charming sprites.

RhysD says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:21am

Cool idea with the pathfinding platform controls. Teleporting felt a bit weird and was a bit hit and miss.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:22pm

interesting concept -- wondered if you were trying to use both themes here? If so, good work!

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Fun game! The controls were creative, but sometimes you wouldnt take the intended path and run in a ghost. Also, the teleport always teleport the side your caracter is looking and not the side you are clicking. But overall very nicely done!

mukult says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:48pm

So many games without a web or a mac entry...
Damn I'm missing out! :(

teamross says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:50pm

In my oppiniont, the "growing" theme is a bit forced here...

Also, the teleport control feels a bit clunky.

Anyway, great intro and music!

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:15am

This ghost realy cool

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Good idea and gameplay, exciting and enjoyable to play. But sometimes it is not clear what to do.

redmassacre says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:32am

P.S. I've corrected teleport a little bit after jam thank you for feedbacks.

Now the ghost teleports to the mouse direction (not the facing since it's smth simultaneusly correcting due to autopath :)

Here is the link http://bit.ly/1PaBnJZ

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:50pm

I was unable to play it properly - the mouse was frozen, unable to move, while the game was running.

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Not very clear how he plans the path on left click, but overall a good game!
Keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]