Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cube Jump

by Gordy - Jam Entry

Game made in Game Maker (5 hours)

USE:
Use "D" = Move forward.
Use "Space" = For jump.
Use "Esc" = End Game.
Use "R" = For restart level.

Have Fun.
Made by Gordy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#709Audio(Jam)2.05
#839Fun(Jam)2.73
#842Humor(Jam)1.73
#895Theme(Jam)3.10
#931Overall(Jam)2.80
#982Graphics(Jam)2.18
#994Mood(Jam)2.04
#1038Innovation(Jam)1.83

Comments

Aaranos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:28pm

I made it to 36 cubes and then the red portal cube didn't work so I walked off the level.

Even some basic audio could spice it up a bit, but otherwise it's a simple platformer.

StaNov says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Nice level-design, minimalistic graphics, two-button controls. Thanks for the five-minute fun :)

A zdravím kolegu streamera! ;)

rujo says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:48pm

a little too simple graphics but funny to play

Conk says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Ditch the installer, super annoying now that I have to uninstall, try just doing the exe or zip. The game is good for 5 hours but tedious to play, can't see any reason for spikes and holes as they serve the same purpose.

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Cool idea, and the platforming was tricky in places without being frustrating.

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Got stuck on one level, touching the red cube didn't do anything. Not very innovative, simple gameplay, simple graphics.

Gordy says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:33pm

I thnik .. ;) Its end bud Game Maker doesn´t work .. I have bug in GM .. :(

Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Even though it's just cubes, the graphics make it easy to tell what's want (spikes, pits, etc). I like the idea of only being able to jump in one direction. Would be interesting to take that a step further and have it be physics based on the momentum you have when you jump and that once you've jumped you have no more control over your trajectory. Fun little game.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Red portal didn't work on level 8, so I ran off the end of the stage.

Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:04pm

It's too simple but fun to play. Nice prototype :-)

Gordy says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:02pm

New version is here ;)

UPDATED:
New spikes.
Music.
Menu.
And i remove some bugs.

Have Fun... Gordy ;)

Afendar says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Simple platformer,
Graphics are simple,
Theme is okey,
Humor i like it ;) greate job it's fun !

cilerba says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:06pm

a nice simple game. good job.

mathias234 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:20pm

OK game, but there is a annoying bug if you jump and press D and land on the side of a moving block you get stuck.

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:00am

The "Web" and "Windows" link both point to a download for a Windows exe, so you should consolidate them into one link that says "Windows".

The points counter is pretty pointless (pun intended), since it both resets in the middle of the game after losing a level, and also carries over between playthroughs (so you can rack up points by playing the first level over and over again). Also, the audio plays over itself every time you restart, which is hilarious, but also really loud after several resets.

Other than that, it's a fairly well-made platformer, with nice minimalistic graphics. A good entry for just 5 hours!

PKCat says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:11am

Simple and fun to play. The music kinda doesn't fit, but still nice game.

Alphish says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Not bad for a 5 hours of development, and it addresses the "two button controls" theme, too. I'd have liked some other controls, e.g. right for going right and up for jumping. The collisions seemed to act weird sometimes, too (especially when I was killed by these mean spikes :< ). Also, where you got the soundtrack from? I believe I heard it somewhere before...

On a side note, I liked the game icon. :3

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]