Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Astrocats : Supernova Alert

by TeamCalin - Jam Entry

Astrocats : Supernova Alert
- In space, no one can hear you meow.

Space missions can be full of hazards, even when you're an Astrocat. Roger Cutiepaw and Mireille Whiskers are about to get caught in the supernova of a nearby dying star. They need help repairing their ship before the explosion blast gets to them. It sure as hell won't be easy... Are you up to the task ?

Gameplay :
Use the left and right arrow keys to fly the ship and bring Roger over the parts that need fixing. When the repair bar is full, Roger and Mireille will be able to speed up and get away from the supernova. Good luck, and mind the asteroids !

--------------------------------------

Augustin Dagoret
Charlène Bogani
Clémentine Plissonnier
Emmanuel Dodet
Noëllie Vélez
Noé Mignard
Pénélope Charles
Titouan Deslandes

---------------------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#98Humor(Jam)3.70
#127Theme(Jam)4.14
#207Audio(Jam)3.57
#317Graphics(Jam)3.79
#331Fun(Jam)3.39
#356Mood(Jam)3.41
#398Overall(Jam)3.43
#405Innovation(Jam)3.29
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

benjaml says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:10am

I got a big black rectangle in front of the screen, But I loved the "Meowday Meowday" and the animation of the start, great job !

TeamCalin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Thanks for your report, we are fixing that ;)
For now you can try the Windows version, it's working.

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:23pm

It's very hard! The controls are tricky to get used to but after that it gets pretty fun. I love all the graphics. :)

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Meow

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:27pm

It's extremely hard. For a while I thought the only objective is to get far away from the supernova, but then I realized that I have to make the cat-engineer collide with my ship too. It's far too hard I believe. Anyway, interesting game :)

monetai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:12pm

"nana nana nananananana na na nananaanananananananana"
-Nyan cat

WitchLake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Nice little game! I also didn't know what to do... but the begin animation was really well done!

Meta-link says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:12pm

That's a fun game !
The game is maybe a little bit easy, but the graphical and musical mood is really enjoyable :)
Good job guys !

Am says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Controls are hard ! But the graph and the sound design are pretty good !

Garazbolg says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:21am

A first i though you couldn't use right AND left at the same, then the game got easier =)
The animation at the beginning is definitly awesome !

Good job

Pantoufle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Nice graphics and sound effects. I didn't get the goal at first so I tried to go as far as possible. I didn't see the supernova explosion from the left before my second try.
The game is hard overall, but quite enjoyable too!
Congratulations!

Big Cow says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:33pm

This was hilarious from the get go. Animation and sound at the start are brilliant! Meow! Sense of threat constantly and infuriatingly those damned asteroids seem to get more accurate as your ship repairs. Cunning. Managed it in the end 72.17! Well done :)

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:02am

Cool idea. I liked the art style and the 2001-drone soundtrack fit well. It's REALLY hard to get the cat to land right. But it's possible. I enjoyed the intro animation/story bit! Good job on this.

OwT says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Surprisingly hard for such a simple game. The controls were lagging sometimes so I had my rage moments.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]