Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

CafeGarden

by Bacontree - Compo Entry

After a cafe has lost all money and ran out of food, an employee takes it upon himself to save the cafe by growing fruits and food in the garden outside.

Walk around with wasd, press space to open the menu, hold down the mouse and drag to move the camera, and press f to harvest.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#142Graphics3.86
#371Humor2.61
#468Theme3.75
#491Overall3.22
#524Mood2.90
#554Fun3.06
#675Audio1.71
#820Innovation2.50

Comments

matthewd673 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:03am

This game is REALLY fun. Also I built a bridge out of my plants so I can just walk in a circle spamming 'F' to harvest my plants.

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Wow! And you made all of these assets yourself? Very nice!

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Graphics looks incredible!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Too addictive :D Great fun!!! Can't stop playing!

avocadojoe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:59pm

really nice

Borodar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Nice and sweet farm :)

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:19pm

The UI is kinda confusing. The plants look really nice! I wanna eat strawberries now... lol

BUNN1E5 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:29am

I found it hilarious that there was no walk animation on the character XD.

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Well, I retired at 10k. Seemed like enough.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:24am

Very cool and addictive!! Great graphics! A bit long to get started, but once you have a couple of stuff in the farm it's hard to keep up!! :) Great job

mockthebear says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:15pm

My real complaint its the chat boxes that you have to keep clicking in continue and the windows keep swaping the position.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Fun faming sim!

CMG says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Great graphics for a compo game! Could probably use more cheap seeds/recipes at the beginning to help ease the player into the game rather than having to wait on the strawberries so long.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:15pm

While I will probably still see that mouse's head that looks like a plucked chicken with ears in my nightmares I enjoyed this more than I thought.

Balance of the plants is a bit off, you really only need 1 raspberry plant vs many strawberry and blueberry ones. If the growing speed was a bit higher and the rewards for the later plants a bit lower it would be more dynamic.

Initially I had a garden with all kinds of fruit but once I started making the big bucks I razed all that stuff, planted only coffee beans and converted the cafe into a Starbucks. Better ROI, you see.

RARoadkill says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Really fun, good graphics. Enjoyed playing this

Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:16pm

Lovely graphics and fun gameplay. Very funny teletubby-like character!

amras0000 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:15am

The core idea of the game is really nice and exciting, but there are just so many minor annoyances that I was unable to enjoy this game at any point.

To start off, the game's far, far too slow. At the start it took far too long to get the 25 coins of regular income I needed to start blueberry farming. Then, with every plant taking more time to grow, the game just dragged on far beyond its welcome.
Second issue, and this is a huge one. To control the mouse, you need to click and drag. But the mouse isn't locked to the window. So I was left having to click, drag to turn a little bit, move my mouse back over to the other side of the screen, drag again, to do any sort of turning and my wrist is absolutely killing me right now.
You made a really nice asset for the chef and gardener (though why they're wearing winter clothes while it's "sunny" I'm not clear on >_> , and the plants look fairly nice as well, but with the complete lack of texturework on the walls and building it loses a lot of the overall effect.
Finally, don't make the user hit 'f' on every single plant. Let them gather in a radius, or have the plants gather themselves, or let them hold down f to gather everything they walk past. My hands are in pain from playing this game :T

In short: lock the mouse to the window, speed up the growth time of the later plants, increase the selling price of strawberries, let the user hold f instead of pressing it, add some texturework to the walls/building and you've got a pretty fun game.

I'm sorry that I'm so harsh, but I think you should've simplified the character assets and put some effort into balancing and designing the gameplay.

outstanding bug: not sure if it's intentional, but you can easily place overlapping plants; you prevent the player from placing plants while standing inside another plant's area, but if I stand outside of the area facing in I can easily make the plants overlap, though that does make gathering them difficult.

Hjalte500 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:27am

These assets look really good! The game is a pretty fun timewaster and its definitely the ludum dare game ive played the longest. It was hard to quit.. all my coffee plants. You will be missed.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]