Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cell growth

by vulcain - Compo Entry

This game is about to defeat a tumor for that you will need to divide cells, but cells need ATP to live so you will need to collect nutrients. Some nutrients need to have multiple cells to be digested. Each cell has a lifetime at the end of this one the cell will have an abnormal cell growth (cancer).

To damage the tumor you need to have at least a number of cells on it. If you see the tumor does not take damage, put more cells! ;)

Controls :
Left Click: Select a cell to move
Right Click: Select an option for the cell.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#380Innovation3.32
#397Theme3.83
#597Audio2.33
#773Mood2.45
#816Fun2.61
#844Overall2.75
#854Graphics2.17

Comments

Beanallean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Got an error running it on win10 64bit "The program can't start because VCRUNTIME140.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix the problem."

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:16pm

It is an interesting game. I would like to play more, but I can't seem to keep living long enough to kill the tumor.

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:24pm

same as the other guy

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:25pm

I don't get it. There are no in-game instructions and on-site instructions are not clear. I have cells everywhere, but I have no idea what to do with the tumor. However, I think it is interesting concept (from what I saw), also educative.

vulcain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Try downloading the DLL here: http://dllwindows.com/download-vcruntime140-dll/, maybe I need to link the cpp runtime library.

vulcain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:40pm

The Tumor need to be killed by cells, for that you need to have a lot of cells on it. I did not specify in the description the number of cells for each nutrient or the tumor to add more gameplay :)

tazdij says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:21am

I got an error running on Windows 7 64bit. The audio still played though. So, I rated you on that. I liked the audio, and the idea seems really cool.

daveh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17am

Works find on Windows 10 64bit btw. I couldn't work out how to damage the tumour either. I did enjoy collecting the nutrients.

vulcain says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:41am

To damage the tumor you need to have at least a number of cells on it. If you see the tumor does not take damage, put more cells! ;)

TCP786 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:38am

The audio plays, but no visuals are rendered. It says "(not responding)" message if I click within the window. (Windows 7 64 bit)

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:41am

Cool idea for a game. Like the scientific aspect of it! Took a while to understand, but it was pretty fun. Good work.

krashja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:42am

I don't know what i am supposed to do to kill the tumor, i collect atp, and i can move more, but i get no way of killing the tumor, i like the idea .

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:47am

Nice concept, once I actually read the instructions it all became clear :) Nice take on the theme.

simoroshka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:02pm

For some reason I can't do anything, nothing happens when I click anything. But I really like the idea! Science games are one of the best things. Good job!

vulcain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:53am

That's weird, which OS are you using?

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:16am

Interesting concept but highly confusing. Could do with a little more in-game instructions and polish in that regard to make it into something that shines

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Very interesting game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/sMG1ENTyKkU

alliel_a says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:47am

nice game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]