Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Game Jam Victims

by BioBazard - Jam Entry

At each Game Jam, millions of tomatoes are victims of abuse to make pizza ...

Help these tomatoes to flee their executioners !

Music by jukedeck.com

This game was made in 24h (the last day) for the Ludum Dare 34.
Enjoy it !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#132Humor(Jam)3.57
#339Fun(Jam)3.38
#395Audio(Jam)3.23
#434Mood(Jam)3.31
#446Graphics(Jam)3.59
#552Theme(Jam)3.63
#772Overall(Jam)3.03
#940Innovation(Jam)2.38

Comments

SovietBear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:27am

Weird story, but I like it. It's charming, but could use a bit of animation. decently fun to play if you need to kill some time though!

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:31am

At first I thought this was like all of the other games I've seen like this.. then you threw in those swerving condiments! That was intense. I had to stare at the chef's crotch to try and stay in the middle lane and pop out to dodge anything sent down the middle. Couldn't make it past the next level with the two lane items, fun though!

bessdlan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:40am

lol it's a fun game but it makes me hungry :x
... a pizza is a good idea >_>

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:41am

Simple, but fun and pleasant to look at. The increased amount of survival time seems unnecessary, though. It just made the levels seem to long (plus 24 + 48 + 72 =/= 72 :P)

Ayaya33 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:42am

Not loading for me (Firefox). Could you add a download link for Windows?

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:44am

LOL good job! xD keep it up!

Pixel Pub says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:47am

Nice interpretation of a lane runner game. I like the setting and mood! Pacing is fine, although some more items could spawn on middle lane. But I didnt get past the double lane items.

Leuthil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Funny theme. I like how there were multiple levels. The last one is actually very challenging.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Third level was genuinely challenging without being unfair. Nice game with funny art!

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Now I feel guilty because we ordered lots of pizza this days.
We need more games like this, that make laugh even before to start to play. We like the art.

pokipsy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46pm

ahah this game is so loony!
Gameplay is very simple and addictive, I enjoyed it.
Level 2 was too hard for me (20 dead tomatoes when I gave up ^^)

Rocketship says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:52pm

You're here for a good cause friend. The game itself is a pretty standard endless runner (well in this case not so endless), everything works in that area but I would have liked to see something new too.

Darkflint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:26pm

I like the idea, hail to all tomatoes :D

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Nice handmade styled graphics, fun plot. It amused me, but after a while I couldn't get over the happy meals :( And I don't understand how a pepper can run over a tomato... and why.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:36pm

cool,it's fun

MalyTimi says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:45pm

In second stage if you are staying in the middle
for most of the time youre safe :D

Xanjos says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:19pm

For something that done literally done in 24 hours, this was actually a really well done and polished entry. The difficulty progression was spot on and I really liked the hand drawn art.

matiz982 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:52am

Nice game. Simple controls and simple graphic (I like it). I would play again. Good Job! :)

BoredOfYou says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:09am

Laggy and the music starts at strange points

Tselmek says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Really fun game, the graphics are pretty cool looking and the music kicks asses. The moving obstacles are a bit too intense but overall the gameplay feels nice. Love the idea of the tomatoes as enemies during game jams, nicely thought.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]