Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cardboard Conundrum

by printhello - Compo Entry

A stupid little game where you are a cactus and you must escape from cardboard mazes. Use left and right arrows or A and D to turn left and right.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#15Theme4.45
#42Innovation4.05
#50Fun3.90
#74Overall3.90
#83Humor3.56
#93Audio3.68
#127Graphics3.90
#210Mood3.40
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Very good! Maybe stupid for you, but that's a great concept with good level design, there is many way to make different levels, and to improve levels.
That's great!

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:17am

Nice and fresh idea and nice graphics/audio. It could be a little bit annoying to restart a level because of the long time you have to wait before you complete a map. But that is probably a persenal problam that i have. Otherwise it was really good

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:18am

It took a second to realize what was going on lol, but ended up being pretty fun. Very unique idea, definitely fits the theme. Would probably make a very good mobile game if expanded upon. Super job!

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:25am

This game is random and weird... I like it.

John Drury says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:26am

Funny game. Would love to see this on mobile!

adamyounis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:47am

Fits the theme on both counts. The gameplay is pretty fun too, but I think an auto-restart, or at least something more accessible, would have been helpful. I found myself losing interest having to pull the restart tab every time.

Other than that, the graphics and sounds were fun. This could be a cool ipad game with gyro controls.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:49am

was quite fun :D why did it have to be so short! lol I'm only kidding I actually believe this was made even better by its length :) so many other LD entries get very repetitive and drawn out however I was still having fun by the end of this one! Good work

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Love the style! Great little silly game! This is the kind of game you easily lose way too much time on.

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Cool little game! Would have been nice if the camera zoomed out as your speed increases. Sometime it's hard to see where you are going so when you see an obstacle it can already be too late.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:49pm

You shouldn't call your own game stupid! I actually think it's really good. It controls well and it's a very cute concept. I think the only issue I found was the difficulty curve. In the beginning I definitely figured out how to restart the level by the time it told me! Haha. I actually was surprised to see that there was more past level 1! I got to level 4 before I decided it was getting a little too hard for me. I wish there was something indicating how many levels there were! That would incentivize me a lot more.

Fun idea and fun game! I thought the music was a very nice touch and getting the little flower at the end was satisfying. :)

kmakai says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:31am

I had a lot of fun with this, though I can't quite get to the end. Great use of both themes, I'm really impressed that you got all of the art and music done as well. My only suggestion would be a key to restart, rather than using the menu. Great job!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:54am

awesome! very creative, engaging and challenging, nice job :)

flukeshot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:06pm

A cactus escaping cardboard mazes, how did you even..? It was fun :)

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:14am

Couldn't stop playing this game until I finished it! Awesome concept, very fun to play! Great job and great use of the theme! :)

printhello says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:37am

Thanks everyone, you are all really nice. I wasn't planning on continuing this game but now after reading all of your comments I might continue with this game :)

theTechnoKid says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:00pm

Awesome game! Very Addicting too. I loved it :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]