Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Decay Dynamics

by NotoriousFlex - Jam Entry

HOW TO PLAY:

Your goal is to destroy the opposite factory, by matching robots parts together to send them to battle !
But you have to build your units in order !
First legs , then chest, then head. If you make a mistake, you'll have to do it again.

Build them as fast as possible to have a huge army ! And increase your testosterone.

Left (Cyan) player controls:
- S : Skip
- D : Match

Right (Pink) player controls:
- Down : Skip
- Left : Match

You can play against computer or another miserable human being.
Or you can just be lazy and let computer play alone for you :D

TEAM:

Looping: Code (Twitter: @looPingC2 )
Bastien: Graphics, Pixel Art (Tumblr: http://bsanchez-pelm.tumblr.com )
Valmont: Music, Sfx (Twitter: @ValmontDeRag )

My heart will go on, to the robots.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#29Graphics(Jam)4.63
#63Audio(Jam)4.03
#64Overall(Jam)3.97
#87Mood(Jam)3.91
#91Innovation(Jam)3.83
#161Fun(Jam)3.65
#200Theme(Jam)4.04
#528Humor(Jam)2.63
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:07am

Holy crap, this is amazing and awesome to play! The graphics and gameplay are amazing.

Eshford says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:08am

Excellent work! Really like this quite simple gameplay mechanic.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:12am

Heaps of fun, fast paced gameplay, it would be cool if there was a little more to it, but the difficulty levels were a nice touch. Btw the game is truly beautiful, great art, and the audio was very good.

bushmango says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:17am

Really fun. We played a lot of games. I would have liked to see a deeper strategy though :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:31am

What can i say, best game rated so far.

Luke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38am

Woooah, this is awesome.

NecroMac says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:53am

Great Graphics and quality, but it's very tough to beat an CPU

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:43am

Impressive! A little tricky to understand at first, but simple enough to get going after a few minutes. The real strength in this game is certainly the presentation, though. The slick cyberpunk UI and ambient music really steal the show.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:22am

IMMA DESTROY ALL MY FRIENDS IN DUELS!! :D Awesome art style with balanced and cool music accompanying it. Loved the voices!

Tipyx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:04am

A little bit repetitive, but I think there is a lot of potential in multiplayers. Maybe some variations will be good (like different head that create differents units and you had to choose what unit create, for example :))

blackmagic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Excellent !

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:01am

This was quite fun to play, nice job!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:19am

Nice sound, nice graphics, nice gameplay, simple and balanced game, very well done ! :D

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:34am

Mechanic is solid. I think it could be just a little bit slower game with other types of robots that you could produce. They could be with different features and stuff. Or more awesome would be to combine pieces yourself to create custom robots. Great work, I'd like to see more entries like this.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:36am

Good game! The use of two button controls is very interesting. The graphics and the atmosphere are really good, it creates a nice and pleasing universe. But during the play I just focused on the "gameplay" part of the screen so the minion spawning and animations, which are really nice and polished, just felt like decor

yhsper says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:37am

Awesome entry! Amazing graphics, SFX/Music is very cool, the gameplay, while very simple, is incredibly exciting and uses the theme very well! Congratulations to you guys!

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:48am

This is very impressive, and also the reason I don't do the jam, because I have to compete with stuff like this. :)

Raius says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:56am

This is so simple and amazing, the two-player mode is a great addition as well. I'm looking forward to your future games :)

tharealjohn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:06am

I loved this. Well done!

Rob Glen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:07am

Fantastic concept! Fun, with intuitive controls and great art and audio. As simple and focused as it needs to be and really well made on top of that. My only complaint is that because of how much attention I had to put on picking the right parts in the right order, I found myself not looking at what was happening in the game visually almost the whole time, it might be better to bring the UI from the sides to the bottom center? Apart from that, pretty much perfect!

ssodelta says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:09am

Liked the Graphics alot:) Also good and clean sounds! Very suitable. But it was kind a difficult for me.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:12am

The game is brilliant in pretty much all areas, one of the best I've seen so far. However, I see a small problem: you need to focus so much on the pieces UI to assemble the robots and not lose ground against your rival that you miss the actual action, so all the really cool visuals get ignored, and that's a bit of waste, sadly :S

Perhaps a slower pace and/or actually positioning them at the bottom of the screen could help give more relevance to the action.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:30am

Visuals are stunning! Rather simple gameplay, but it's still a nice game!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:47am

Wonderful artwork! The game is a bit overwhelming at first. Simple but difficult (maybe a little too difficult right off the bat). Great job!

lawendt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:00am

Nice work! Art and Audio are excellent, it really gave life to the world!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:00am

This is really awesome

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:15am

Had to do a quick scan of the comments to make sure no one else beat me to it... IT'S OVER 9000!?!?! Great little game, think I read someone mentioning different part variations, would add to this already polished game!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:25am

The art is absolutely top notch!
The only thing is when my eyes are so focused on the manufacturing scroller in the top corner, I can't see what is happening in the rest of the screen.
Perhaps if the scroller is in the center of the screen or just above the soldiers it would be easier for the player to see everything.
Just my take tough, everything else is incredible.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:35am

Really fun and polished. Great graphics and innovative gameplay. Unfortunately i can't watch the battle because im too focused on building.

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Nice graphics, but it's hard to focus on it and manage to succeed the game. Should be fun with two players :)

Valandre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:31pm

I like this kind of stacking game, good approach of the theme. sounds, are very great too!

Ivan Volkov says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:50pm

That was an awesome art, really!
Also the idea is interesting, I enjoyed playing this game, but I think it needs more gameplay.
Anyway, top rating!

Pusty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:31pm

This is really good! Amazing graphics! Also the concept in general is really nifty

Herzucco says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Hard to master but this is impressive ! Great graphics and Ambiance !

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:47pm

What I always find problematic in games like these is that the part of the screen you need to watch closely is too far from the action. That way you miss all the action because you are too concentrated on being efficient in the "minigame". It would be better if the letter line was in the middle of the screen.

Other than that, everything is great :)

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:48am

I really loved the game. Very addictive, and pretty challenging at first. One tip to improve the game: add a visual indicator (or maybe a color change) for the currently highlighted part that you can assemble. The mountain of white parts can become difficult to distinguish when you're going really fast. Other than that, a really awesome game.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Wow, so beautiful game. It so fun to play even more with someone. I really liked your game, I had a lot of fun!
I loved the graphics but I almost didn't look to the battle because of the creation hud.
Great job!

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Six stars for fun, graphics, and audio. Definitely one of the very best of LD34.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:56pm

The graphics were nice, very clean and professional. It was just shame that I spent the whole time looking at the icons, so didn't really get much chance to appreciate the look and mood of the game. It's a cool idea, so it would be nice if the main gameplay elements and graphical outcome were merged somehow

Dege says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Nice, perfect use of theme. Solid entry.

It's a pity you have absolute no time to look at the great animations, maybe you could somehow move the area you need to look at closer to the base.

radmars says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:15am

Nice! Cool concept and the graphics and audio are awesome. Of course, it would be nice if the gameplay were more elaborate (choosing different kinds of robots for example) and if the menu gameplay was closer to the action so I could appreciate the art more! Still this is awesome, great work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]