Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Jane and the Sugar Cane

by gabriel_pnc - Jam Entry

We pick the 2 buttons control theme.

Our game is about a girl that is looking for her boyfriend lost in the sugar cane field. With her knife she cuts the cane and open a way to find him. Be careful and avoid the danger with-in the cane field.

We think we finish it but it may be optimized (the sound is not that great, the color may cause eye fatigue and the project source could be done better).

But it's ok, it's playable and fun. Hope you like.


CONTROLS
LEFT AND RIGHT ARROW KEY
OR
B AND X IN THE XBOX CONTROLLER

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#499Theme(Jam)3.69
#550Humor(Jam)2.60
#714Audio(Jam)1.91
#915Fun(Jam)2.60
#930Mood(Jam)2.47
#940Graphics(Jam)2.38
#946Innovation(Jam)2.37
#1014Overall(Jam)2.66

Comments

wbalbinot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:19am

We finally did it :D

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:40am

You are right about the audio and the graphics needing some work. Otherwise it is good. Only having two buttons makes it interestingly challenging.

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:42am

Fun little game! Great work!

scriptorum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:43am

A score would be nice! The two-button controls give it the feel of steering a ship, but as it only turns at right angles it's a little tricky.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:45am

Nice entry. Took a while to get the hang of dodging the bugs but good fun after that.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:15am

I like the animation of the girl!! lol !!

It needs a bit of work! But nice work!

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:09am

Not bad for a weekend. The two button controls were good.

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:10am

Found him. Is he always in the same place or is it random? (for me in 1st and 2nd level he was in the same spot). Good job :)

Mattress says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Game is very interesting. It's not really that hard, though. I'd say, just for one thing, make it harder to see enemies and Jack in the sugar cane. Maybe just the tops, or a ruffle in the canes. That would make it much harder and cooler.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Graphics and art definetly need work, but it's interesting. The controls make it kind of fun.

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:34pm

The game didn't run too well for me; I only averaged 10fps on the web and 15 on the download, which seemed bit strange, since I have a 4GB nvidia graphics card. Probably something on my end.

The game's concept was nice, and you did a good job on it!

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:56pm

The GAME OVER sound effect is too loud.

marod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:55am

Shit that insects are so creepy... But I like the game.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:10am

good work - might help to have some idea where to locate the boyfriend - good game

mxjones says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Not bad, didn't like the sound when it's game over...jarring!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]