Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Singapore Christmas

by iovorobiev - Jam Entry

Try to grow Christmas Tree in Singapore!

Click on screen to reduce the temperature
Tree grows only with negative temperature and if it has enough Christmas balls on it
Tree mutates to Palm piece by piece if temperature is above the 0C

------------------------------ATTENTION!!-----------------------------------
Christmass balls fall from the sky ONLY if temperature is HIGHER than 0C
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

If your tree becomes a palm you lose!

How high will be your Christmas tree on the Singapore beach?:) Share your results!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#603Innovation(Jam)3.00
#604Humor(Jam)2.50
#875Theme(Jam)3.14
#946Graphics(Jam)2.37
#988Mood(Jam)2.15
#1024Fun(Jam)2.33
#1037Overall(Jam)2.59

Comments

mnill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:21am

how to restart game?

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:24am

I got my tree to 3 high.
I put two ornaments on him, then I kept clicking to keep the temperature down. after that, no more ornaments spawned :/
Nice graphics. And a very unique take on the theme.

iovorobiev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:27am

Logicon, balls spawn only if a temperature is positive!
mnill, this feature coming soon, now there is no this option

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Pretty fun game! Becomes impossible after a while, where my clicks don't cool down the tree...

mathijs750 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:53am

It gets a bit hard after the tree is 5 layers tall. The gameplay concept is very original but it could be explained better.

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:32am

It was a bit confusing at first, but I eventually got the hang of it. Art could have used a little more work though. All in all a fun experience! :)

jachepe says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:18pm

A bit confusing but it's a very innovation game!

Budi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Nice idea. :-) I like that this game is only one button control. :-) I have like 10 layers and it's quite simple even on this height, but the tree growth gets really long and the game is more about waiting. :-/

Overall I like concept of this game, well done! :-)

loxo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Interesting concept that fits the theme. It took me a while to understand that I have to catch the ornaments with the mouse and put them on the tree. At first I thought I have to move the tree to catch the ornaments. Some background music and sound effects would be nice.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]