Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SnowBall Crash

by AdamAlexander - Jam Entry

You play a snowball racing down a snowy mountain to the finish line. You grow larger the longer you are in contact with the ground.

Controls:
Space/Left Mouse Button - Jump
Escape - Exit

You will need to watch for obstacles too, they may become absorbed when you roll over them. Most of the time they will slow you down, but they can be used to your advantage sometimes to keep you moving. You require a minimum mass to absorb the different obstacles in the game:

Bunnies: 1 mass
Small rocks: 10 mass
Large rocks: 30 mass
Boss Bunnies: ?
You can't absorb trees

You win once you reach the finish line, and game over if your snowball stops moving.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#512Humor(Jam)2.65
#668Theme(Jam)3.52
#741Graphics(Jam)3.00
#777Innovation(Jam)2.73
#823Mood(Jam)2.73
#829Fun(Jam)2.74
#901Overall(Jam)2.85

Comments

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:34am

I like the concept but I feel like it's not hard to lose momentum, I especially got stuck in the pit with trees a lot it was interesting picking up bunnies and so forth.

tGiant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:16am

I also like the idea. I struggle a bit to get momentum going.
Good game and well done.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:18am

I think the features of this game should be the fastness of the snowball, the fun of collecting items and the strategy of picking what to collect. By the way, this game has a lot of potential in mobile platforms.

LuckiiGoggy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:19am

The bunny!!!!

Squid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:27am

Its a fun game but I feel it could use more instruction in the beginning of the level. Epic bunny smashing though.

zaniarm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:05am

Fun game. I liked the simple but beautiful graphics. Well done.

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:21am

Does the escape control work? I cant restart when the ball stopped.

vinipereira says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:11pm

If I get stucked I can jump and still gain mass when hit the floor. But the idea is good.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:20pm

I like that you made it suitable for Christmas. I enjoyed the game. The only problem I had was sometimes I lost my momentum.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:33am

Poor rabbits :< -- This was fun to mess around with. I love the way the trees spring and sway when you land on them. I will say the camera was a bit disorienting, maybe make it zoom and move a little less severely? Might just be me. Good job on this.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:21am

This is a nice physics game and continues to be fun to play :) well done.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:09am

controls were impossible - love the rabbits in the snowball - nice effort

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]