Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

1337h4x

by Carnivoris - Compo Entry

Think you're a 1337 h4x0r, kid? Test your skills in this high-speed, pulse-pounding race to own boxes on the internet and grow your botnet! Avoid firewalls, attack vulnerable hosts, and use exit nodes to lower your threat against the dreaded firewall! Upset the firewall too much and get rekt!

Control your packet as it zooms down the internet superhighway and grow your botnet as large as you can!

Engine: Unity 5
Image editors: GIMP/Paint.NET
Music editor: LMMS
Sound effects designed with bfxr

OSX and Linux builds are NOT tested (I don't have any systems running those OSes atm). The only known issue otherwise is sometimes pickup collisions don't work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#169Audio3.40
#262Mood3.31
#297Graphics3.46
#363Overall3.38
#387Humor2.57
#455Theme3.77
#509Fun3.12

Comments

SplittyDev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Nice game! Love the concept :)

Capitals says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:53pm

The music adds to the feel and mood of the game effectively. However the controls are a bit slow and clunky. I felt slightly overwhelmed by the wall of text. However the graphic's and theme suited the game to a T. Good Luck! - Oh it needs to get harder.

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Linux build works fine! The only strange thing is, that the GUI elements (botnet view and the explanations on the left side of the screen) are only half visible. Also the green computers always come up in pairs, which is pretty pointless, since I can only pick up one of them.

I like the audio and the cyber-mood.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Really fun game, I liked it. The only thing I'd suggest is adding some sort of sliding animation just to make it a bit more fluent, but otherwise really nice game overall, well done :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:03pm

great audio and visuals, I like how you've fitted the idea of hacking through networks and avoiding firewalls, very creative

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Good music, graphics and mood. As Capitals commented, I also felt a little delay on the controls, but the game was easy, so it is okay. Overall you did a good job!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Great fun.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:04pm

4 51mpl3 64m3, bu7 7h3 4357h371c5 4r3 4m4z1n6ly d0n3!

Andrew Patton says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Good game. The graphics were pleasing.

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:30am

Had some issues with the controls feeling a bit slow. Really enjoy the concept and the theme of the game, dang firewalls. well done

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:54am

I really like the graphics, they really contribute to the hacking theme, so did the music.
The player moves with mouse-up, which is weird, and makes it feel unresponsive.
Good job!

2pae says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:49pm

i love this UI and graphic. Also, the music is veri intertesting.

crazya02 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:14am

very 1337 m8 88/8

Player moving on button up makes it feel unresponsive, and it's too simplistic; I never hit a firewall once!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Tried the OS X version, works fine.

I often moved though an exit node without any effect, even after I hit a firewall blob before. Controls lag quite a bit bit there's not too much coming your way so it wasn't a real problem.

Liked the mood and the 90s-tastic graphics. Nicely done overall.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]