Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Supernova

by equiposalchicha - Jam Entry

Supernova is a game that uses both of the 34th Ludum Dare's themes, growth and two buttons. Get and keep the planets on orbit and collect asteroids to complete their growth. Made by a team of second year college students, in their first Jam.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#284Theme(Jam)3.93
#397Innovation(Jam)3.30
#552Audio(Jam)2.92
#708Graphics(Jam)3.07
#735Fun(Jam)2.89
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#833Mood(Jam)2.72

Comments

blurryroots says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:55am

I think you managed to come up with a simple concept and execute it very well. I liked how you explained the controls in a visual style. Great entry ;)

ajopart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Very nice !

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:15am

Simple yet effective, like the use of both themes.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:36am

Gameplay is simple but interesting, I liked the concept and the execution, this is a good entry! well done!

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:03am

Pro:
+ Cool and simple concept (really liked the planetary stability management)
+ Nice assets
Con:
- A bit confusing with the game rules
- A bit too simple with the gameplay... Could expend to more planets maybe? Then controls would have to be different, but oh well
- Physically confusing (at least for me)

Great job!

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:04am

BTW all the links are pointing to the same file

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Ma cago en la leche, no entendía nada de lo que estaba pasando xD al final he visto que salía otro planeta y he pillado el rollo pero... el juego parece incontrolable, en plan, no puedes tomar decisiones ni adoptar estrategias interesantes porque estás simplemente a la deriva a merced de como se generen los asteroides y poco puedes hacer tú por mejorar la situación salvo afectar levemente a las trayectorias. Ese creo que sería el punto más crítico para que la experiencia de juego fuera mucho más agradable.

De todas formas enhorabuena por acabar vuestra primera jam! Espero que sea la primera de muchas, no paréis de hacer juegos!

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Nice game! Especially if it's your first one, well done! I love the music :)

Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:16am

This is a cool idea and I really like the music. I did find it sort of confusing and hard to control, but I think I could get the hang of it with a little practice.

JoseArias says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Muy divertido para una primera version. Cuesta entender que cuando deja de salir la tecla todavía los botones hacen efecto (porque el efecto no es muy grande). Añadiendo mas elementos como asteroides perjudiciales podría ser muy interesante.

LazyDev says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:54pm

I liked it. But it is too short. Just got used to controls and 5 seconds later i won the game.

Cosmic5 says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 9:35pm

kind of confusing but still fun. Graphics and music is good.

Kerdelos says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 9:51pm

Graphics are cute but the game is hard to understand. It took me some time to understand the controls. And the beginning feels a bit long. The music is also cool

AzureAspect says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 10:00pm

Pretty simplistic game, in the beginning I was hitting X key all the time for the second planet untill I realized I should be hitting M instead o.o
Nice concept however :)

Smirnov48 says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 10:03pm

Nice game. I liked this style, but I think it's too short.

Aaranos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:28pm

The gameplay is a bit confusing. The art and music are both good. I tried it a few times but couldn't get past the 2nd planet since it kept crashing into one another or flying off.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:02pm

It's a really innovative idea! I just wish you had a little bit more control over the planets, sometimes it's hard to tell if you're actually doing anything.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]