Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Zircon

by _HopFrog - Jam Entry

Solve puzzles to find 4 diamonds... with just two buttons!


RIGHT & LEFT ARROW KEYS TO MOVE

(PRESS BOTH AT THE SAME TIME TO PLACE A BOMB!)

You may also use R to reset the game if somehow you get stuck somewhere and ENTER to access fullscreen (Windows version!)

The windows version works much better and is highly encouraged because reasons.

A game by Mariano Cavallero (@_HopFrog), with audio by Lindar K. Greenwood (@lindarthebard)


(You better find all secrets... OR ELSE!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#151Innovation(Jam)3.69
#166Graphics(Jam)4.10
#282Overall(Jam)3.56
#360Theme(Jam)3.83
#472Audio(Jam)3.10
#479Fun(Jam)3.20
#525Mood(Jam)3.20
#666Humor(Jam)2.37

Comments

AuthorX says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:32am

Really innovative and fun, but it got frustrating when I couldn't place the bomb precisely on a switch, and had to leave and return and move boxes around again to get another try.

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:36am

The only annoying part was it was extremely difficult to know which direction was which coming out of a spring jump, and I couldn't seem to place a bomb. The controls just felt sticky and annoying in general.

propter_ludus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:40am

I really like the concept.
The art is beautiful.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46am

Felt like Fez Meets Mario Galaxy. Fun, but the controls felt weird as the orientations change. Still, I love its innovation!

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:33pm

I feel like you were visually inspired by Fez. I think the game is fine but there are problems. The first one is the repetitive sound of spring. Second one is that I could not adjust to left-right controls when character keeps rotating and it became really frustrating. I have headache now actually :( Anyways, clean entry. Keep up the good work!

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Others have said it all. Really nice concept and graphics, but I get pretty confused. Nicely done nevertheless!

flyingbear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:23pm

That's a really neat concept! It broke my brain when on the bottom edge of a platform pressing left went right, but I got used to it. It was jarring to slow down each time I rounded a corner, would the game feel better if that didn't happen?

Ghen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:18am

i like the artstyle, remind me of fez, and the gameplay quite unique as well
overall great concept

guru-guru says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:24am

Pretty but a couple of times I glitched on a corner and had to restart.

Firellon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:39am

Nice idea and well made game, but it's hard to get some moments without any explanantion. Keep the course, anyway, and have luck!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:10am

This game is very polished and innovative! But it's hard to figure out the direction and the character moves slow at the corners.

lurils says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:13am

Very interesting, the character could be a little faster for me |3

blohod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:14am

nice, but hard to tell directions, also after teleportation boxes reset.

mr. a says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:27am

Graphics are charming, and I like the spatial nature of the puzzles, but I'm having trouble with the controls: A) I've tried various combinations and timing of pressing/releasing both buttons, but haven't been able to place a bomb. B) I'm having trouble determining which direction left/right will go once I've landed, and an incorrect press often results in bouncing back & forth. It would be nice if there were visual cues to know how the little fellow will move.

Also, for some reason the audio is so quiet it's practically inaudible in the left speaker.

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:44am

I think it could be a really interesting game - it ran at a grindingly slow pace on my relatively new computer (i5 6600) and the controls did not seem to match what was happening on screen, with the ground beneath me, left and right were inversed.

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:50am

I hit a bug where I was walking on an invisible surface and I was trapped. I recorded it so I'll let you know when I have it posted. Looks really cool though. Definitely reminded me of Fez just from the art style a little bit.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:56am

Very cool game, really like the visuals. But going arund the corners was a bit slow (and sometimes buggy ,but you probably know that)

Skywilly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:20am

Really interesting challenge !

Reisen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:41am

Very polished, and good puzzle design. Control is slow at corners, and gets buggy sometimes (one spot to reproduce: at the island right before you get the red diamond, approach the solid block from the left side).

ncannasse says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Nice, good level design, but the controls are a bit unresponsive and sometimes when you fail something you have to do again many things

maunovaha says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Cool looking game, and nice mechanics. Well done :)

shellbot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:51pm

It was enjoyable until my game kept bugging out. If you press both left and right before going off the side of a block, you end up in what I call, purgatory

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Good job!

purrpurr says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:29pm

The controls feel a little clunky (especially around corners), but otherwise a very good looking, fun ,and unique experience.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:37am

Neat idea. I like the snappy look and how the character squishes when he moves. I was often confused which way I'd go after a trampoline, never really got the hang of it. The boxes would sometimes glitch out and stay suspended on the corner of an island. Graphics are great, and the music is a bit repetitive, but nice. Good job.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Nice concept and game, somewhat let down by difficult controls and glitchiness -- I had to restart twice because the game glitched out :(

Here's what should be changed:
- Do input buffering on the controls a little bit so that it's easier to place bombs in front of you when you're standing still. Often I would accidentally place it behind me due to the order that I pressed the buttons in.
- Make so going around corners is smooth, so that the character doesn't stop, and obviously fix the way that you can glitch off the blocks if you do the wrong thing.
- Make it so that springs automatically recover when you stand on them for a while. Seeing as going back and forth on a spring is a pretty common thing do you it should be easier, having to move slightly off it and then go back is annoying.

I guess some of those things are hard to get right in a limited time frame :P

Graphics were nice! I'd be nice if they lined up with the pixels on the screen properly. Often there was pixel art where because of the scaling some of the pixels were twice the width and others were normal size, which looks pretty ugly. Despite that, still looked good :)

I did manage to beat the game on my third try though... I'm assuming I beat it because I collected everything. A win screen would be nice.

Overall, good game! If there weren't those flaws it would be one of the best!

(Feel free to misquote me as saying "Overall ... there weren't ... flaws ... one of the best!")

Tapehead says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:26am

wow! this is a great game and i've a lot of fun with it! keep it up!

Tapehead says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:13am

i had a bug while playing which forced me to restart the game http://imgur.com/yPS1Lls

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:22pm

The control limitation really hurts this game. I know it's the theme, but it made it very difficult to keep track of which way was which. I also had the game glitch out on me a few times where I suddenly was in the air unable to move, or moved a box into the air, or into my self. It got quite annoying to be honest.

dollarone says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:18am

This is a great game! Love the graphics and the little flying bits. Pretty challenging, but that's a good thing! Audio a bit repetitive, but fits the game. However, I couldn't finish it as the hero suddenly dropped into the air.

Jan 16, 2016 @ 3:40pm

Cute little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/jZIKMICuSkI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]