Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Battle Buttons

by paraboxx - Compo Entry

Two players - One Keyboard. Battle your friends over access to ALL the letters! Biting and scratching allowed. Put away all sharp objects before you start.

Type the letters highlighted on the buttons with your keyboard to make them grow. The first player to grow his button 4 times to full size wins the game!

Attack opponent's button by pressing the letters that appear in the corners!

Made with Unity3D, http://www.bfxr.net/, Ableton Live, Paint.Net.


If you get memory errors in the browser version, restart your browser.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#109Innovation3.82
#167Fun3.62
#260Overall3.53
#425Humor2.48
#436Audio2.72
#468Mood2.97
#677Theme3.47
#739Graphics2.59

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:31am

nice game, though i didnt have a second player, but i get where you were coming from.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:46am

This is awesome! Can't wait to play with friends!

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:01am

Simple and elegant :) Why do letters appear at the corners sometime ? Can't figure out what it changes in the game.

UncleChris says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:19am

Simple and very cool idea - would be fun with a second player.
Liked the added special attack! :D
Very good game.

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:31am

awesome idea. I'd play this with friends, tourney style if I had some over right now. Seems simple and fun

scriptorum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:46am

Loved the sound effects and the concept. Fun idea and well executed.

mactinite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:58am

Played with my Girlfriend, we're now broken up.

Just Kidding, it was really awesome with two people though.

qwetro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:15am

It must be fun when play with friends, lol

guoboism says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:16am

I think the game is like a toy, it provokes many interaction between players. The right side player might get a F, which is in the territory of left player. The left player might cover the key from being pressed. These things are not visible on screen.
Great job.

siege says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:16am

Lots of fun with roommate. Could have gotten way more vicious.

rabbeni says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:19am

Good job! Have to try with someone

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:33am

This game leads to real life fighting! Great concept!

candlesan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:40am

Could see how this would be really fun with a friend.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:02am

Makes me wish I had friends to play this with

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Cool idea! Oh, if only we had friends. ;D My rating is taking into account an ideal scenario, so good scoring.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Quite fun to play with friends! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/XuTLfsOkf7k

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:45am

Interesting idea. Lots of shoving in our two player match.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:03am

Love this! Bloop on a keyboard.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:10am

Liked event when you damage your enemie's growing! Good idea for simple playing with friends!

richardboegli says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:25am

Good fun. Lots of chaos with hands crossing over each other.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Good local multiplayer game. It works well and it is fun, nice job! It is funny to play, I like it ;-)

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Nice idea, this would be great for teaching people to type.

lawendt says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:08am

The only thing is the lack of space when playing with friends, can't have more than two hands trying to reach different buttons in such a rush. Nice idea, tho!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]