Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Berg in Space

by thiagoferraro - Jam Entry

Berg is a robot trying to get his jetpack to escape from his spaceship that is being destroyed. He has to avoid hitting the obstacles in his path until get to his "salvation".

Use the arrows on the keyboard or "A" "D".


TIP:If the game doesn't work in the first time, please, try again! :D

(We choose the "Two Button Controls" theme)

By:
Thiago Ferraro (Game Designer and 3D Artist)
Renan Rodrigues (Game Designer and Programmer)
Nathalia Ferraro (Interface)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#533Audio(Jam)2.96
#669Humor(Jam)2.36
#691Theme(Jam)3.48
#783Graphics(Jam)2.89
#824Fun(Jam)2.75
#879Mood(Jam)2.61
#943Overall(Jam)2.78
#1017Innovation(Jam)2.09

Comments

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Don't publish your game in rar please, now I have to use some program to start it instead of just using window's own zip thing.

Simple but fun game. Controls were a bit clunky but the 3d models were nice, and the music was ok.

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Graphically relatively impressive and with good beats, the atmosphere was quite frantic. It's difficult, maybe too much so, but possible.
The wait time at the end felt too long, ading some key to skip Berk waving his arms about would be nice. Spacing out the obstacles a little more would also be kinda nice, although maybe that would rob the game of it's difficulty.
A generally enjoyable entry.

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Nice music, fun little game.

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:28pm

The music was good and gameplay felt smooth.

I didn't know what things I had to avoid, and what things I had to pick up.

The UI was also partially off screen (using 1024x768 windows mode).

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:10am

I liked the music. And the graphics were kinda cute. Was a bit confused by the floating astronauts though.. I kinda thought they were obstacles at first.

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:24am

Fun game! I liked the ragdolls flying around, they were pretty funny

batmanasb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26am

I like the idea, but you needed to build on it. Actually bumping into the objects (rigid bodies) would have made it 100x better.

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:20am

LOL, like it the gameplay, and stuff, but really, you guys pwned on the name, is based on corre berg video?
btw, the credit screen doesnt have a way to exit, at least i didnt find one

Nway, legal ver outros brasileiros aqui haha

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Music is nice. I've a question, why the game don't show the floor?

redmassacre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46pm

nice game, may be a little too fast for me)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Nice music, nice smooth gameplay.

Auroz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Got repetitive rather quickly and the collisions were a bit off, otherwise fairly fun.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:12pm

The obstacles were confusing and some of the spaces you have to squeeze between are kind of a bit too tight. However, I did enjoy the challenge and the music added to it. Nice job!

Janacek says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Cool little game, the collisions sometimes are wierd :o

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Oh my god, what is that dead robot doing on the wall!? *proceeds to hit large flyign crate while being distracted*
Nice base for the game, wasnt the ship supposed to be being destroyed (maybe some explosion sound or some such)? :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Nice music, smooth challenging gameplay. Nice entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]