Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Organ-izer

by The Merge Conflicts - Jam Entry

Press A and D to move the different sides of the bridge up and down to guide nutrient people to the right parts of the body. Don’t let them fall from too high, and keep them out of the stomach acid! You can tell what goes where by the colors. You need your nutrients to stay healthy and grow big! How long will you live?

Ryan Andersen: Programming, art
Peilin Li: Programming, art
Nick Shooter: Animation, music, sound effects

Update: We've made a few balancing tweaks/bug fixes since our initial submission. The only noticeable differences should be shorter play sessions and faster aging. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#157Humor(Jam)3.47
#175Fun(Jam)3.62
#194Audio(Jam)3.59
#308Innovation(Jam)3.42
#341Theme(Jam)3.86
#377Overall(Jam)3.46
#471Mood(Jam)3.27
#474Graphics(Jam)3.54

Comments

lurils says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:59am

I actually like this one a lot haha, it's fun and the general feel is great, but it needs some work still, on the balancing side, it's often impossible not to lose the nutrient people, I feel...

sathorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:53am

I don't how i survived till age 27 haha. It's really funny but it's often impossible to do the right thing.

lectric.monk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:10am

So much fun! Love the music and the characters. Gameplay is easy to understand and enjoy!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:30am

Nice game with a gameplay really funny. Sometimes one of these creatures cannot jump and stays on the screen until the end - it's just a little bug. The aesthetic seems to me weird. Great music in background. A good entry. Thank you ++

sichevoid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:19am

A nice one! Survived to the age of 55 from the first attempt!

shadow64 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:28am

Thanks for rating Get It Out! I appreciate the feedback. Hoping I can do a post-compo version with more content, but we'll see. This game was fun and simple. The two button controls made sense and were engaging. I feel like sometimes you have to let them die, which means it's more luck than anything. That said, I liked the little characters and their cute deaths. Lived to be 75! Thanks for sharing and congrats on submitting!

bradur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:13am

I survived to the ripe old age of 59! Nice concept, and the game works very well. It was simple but effective.
I really liked the graphics and sound & music :).

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:20am

nice game :) harder than i thought it would be, great sound FX

Efuvex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:36am

Really great all round! Nice music, graphics, use of both themes :o

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:41am

This is quite the funny game. I got 63 on my first try, but i lived a fulfilling life of hearing little nutrients die in acid. Great stuff!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:41am

nice game in general, good idea

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:41am

Please package in zip next time, rar is irritating -.-

Game was very fun to play! Interesting concept. You managed to make it feel very organic, as sometimes you needed to help out the blobs as they got stuck under the platforms by lifting up the bone for a split second. One might argue this is a bug, but I think it adds to the experience as a feature. The music fitted the mood of the game very well, and the blobs running around and dying in the acid were a lot of fun to watch :) The only downside is that it gets boring after a while, but as a whole this is a really solid game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:41am

Liked the theme and graphics of the game. Good job :D

Raius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:43am

Really nice fun game, although I'm absolutely awful at it. Nice work :)

Fernando says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:47am

Loved the music and the humor. Congrats!

B0pt1K says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:48am

I really like this game a lot, best was 72, no idea how. But their little screams as they died were hilarious, and kind of heart breaking.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:53am

Heh 43 years its my best ,i won't to live more)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:55am

Great game! Reminded me of Train Conductor (that's a good thing)

PsycHead says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:40am

Congratulations, that's a nice game. The sound reminded me of old N64 Rare games, which is lovely.

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:55am

Really fun take on the themes!

I really enjoyed the gameplay even though it's not that easy to master the platform's movement.

The game itself probably could start more slowly and build up difficulty in a larger timespan. Nonetheless it's great what you and your team were able to put together in the given time.

The sound and humor fit perfectly and give a lot to the whole feel of the game!

Congratulations!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:56am

Nice concept, and the art style is pretty fun too.

avocadojoe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:59am

cool

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:59am

For some reason the graphics really glitched out on the web player. D: BUT the game was actually really great fun despite that! :D

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:59am

Fun, could've been lots better though!

NuclearCellar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:01pm

I liked this one! Made it to year 70. Especially liked managing bigger number of nutrients, sensomotoric part of my brain was getting some workout.

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:23pm

lol.. well made game.. the graphics and sound "AAAAhhh" was the best part.. :D.. weird bridge -mechanic also was kind of fun to control.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Awesome! Really loved the feel of this game. The music, sound effects and art really bring it all together. Clever but simple gameplay. Great work!

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Solid game in every aspect. It was way more fun than i expected!
I like sounds made by nutrient people and this goofy background music. Gameplay was also very fun, you really need to concentrate especially when you are getting older (neat use of growth theme by the way).

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:16pm

You really succeeded in integrating the two button controls into lemmings style gameplay! Was really fun and awesome feedback, loved the death animations+sounds when they fell into the stomach acid :D

dj_pale says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Yay, 61! Nice mood - needs a bit more work on balancing as mentioned.

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Loved this game! Survived until the age of 56. Great entry.

h.attila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Fun game but I found it too hard somehow. Often times it seemed impossible to me to lead all the guys to their destinations.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:42pm

awesome XD pretty clever gameplay, very creative and fun, well done :)

ManuSaiz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Nice and polished game, good job!
Survived to age 65! Can you get to Final Form in my game? :D

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Nice casual game. Good sounds!

andyman404 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:57am

I like it! Funny seeing what goes on inside a stomach. Well done.

martim00 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:07am

Very innovative and good use of both themes. Also very fun to play!

Jacob123 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:19am

Got to age 54. 10/10 best bridge operating game out there!

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:21am

Nice scaling of difficulty, 68 my first try before I couldn't keep up with the colors any more. Nice music, nice animation, nice game.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:32am

Nice concept! Liked the art style too. Good job!

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:19am

This game was awesome! It has a real "Lemmings" vibe to it, and the music had a strong "Tomba" or "Banjo Kazooie" vibe. All of those are incredibly good things. The art was solid, the concept was great, and the execution was solid, entertaining, and funny!

Easily one of my favourite games from the jam so far! Great job!

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:06am

Very good entry but really hard. The graphics and audio really stand out as excellent.

Henez says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:27am

Great game. Visuals and sounds are great. The sounds of the nutrients crying as they burn in the stomach acid are hilarious. Very original take on the combination of themes as well. A really solid entry.

Firellon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:50am

Very good game. There still a thing that bugs me...
Nutritient people will be inevitably sacrificied at some moment to make a lesser evil, and it goes under such funny and light-hearted music. I want to save them all, but it's impossible! So there's some hidden dark agenda, as I think.
Anyway, it's the best overall-balanced game that I played this LD, good luck with it!

VideoDog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:20am

This game is quite charming. Art and Animation are cute as are the sound effects. Great Job!

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:47am

I love the concept. The pace of this game are pretty nice. Love the nutrient barks :D

Pusty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Great concept! Nice graphics and sounds! I reached 61 on my second try :D Was fun to play! Good job!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:35am

Made it to 76. Love the game. Brought me back to playing Lemmings with the little nutrients splattering after falling too far. Their little screams as they dissolved in acid will also haunt me forever...

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:58am

Nice use of the theme! The game is a bit unballanced because of impossible situations

jdoughty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:16am

This was a strong game, definately one of my favorites this LD!

Move127 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:22am

Great game! Made it to 61 on my first attempt.

yuotta says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:38am

Fun game, wish it was a little bit less chaotic but really cool concept!

dustyroom says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:21am

Maybe increase the health regeneration? Or speed up the game a bit? Anyway, it's great how it is now.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Cool game! For me it was hard to adjust controlling. Sound and graphics creates fun atmosphere.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Really neat graphics, good music and innovative concept :)
Combination = Organ-izer
Great work :)

krashja says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Haha, nice! I like this game!, once you learn the controls, its pretty funny! good job!

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:24pm

This was a nice new concept for a game! Gratz!

herniewise says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Nice idea! Sometimes i fell it uncontrollable but i guess it´s just me hahaha. Good Job.

Warboys says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Really fun cute little game, survived to 69 years old :)

You did a great job with the dropping and raising mechanic to allow some really slick maneuvers when you have multiple dudes who want to go up and down. Great design!

logon13 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Survived to age 62. Really tough game on the mind. I love it :D

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:03am

Really fun game. I got to age 75. It's total chaos while playing, as I'm not exactly great with these types of games, but when I got the hang of it, I really enjoyed it!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:36am

Great entry. Nice track. Love the sound effects. Cool visuals. Fun little game overall :)

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Kind of difficult with the random colors, but it's a really cool concept. Love the sounds & music - reminds me of Rareware N64 games, or minigames in Final Fantasy.

gmatsura says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:02pm

I liked the graphics and the sound effects were funny. I survived to age 64.

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Awesome use of 2button gameplay. The random spawn is a minus for me, Id prefer some spawning rules s.t. you could e.g. save all happy thought bubbles.. Nice rayman-style yeah/yay sounds and pleasant music.

OttersDen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:07am

Oh man this was a hoot to play! Really cute idea and great execution, too! I loved the sound effects that the little nutrient people made when they were matched with the right organ (and when they died in the acid or went splat), they made me chuckle.

Also it was a good challenging game, too! I like how the difficulty slowly increases. The learning curve is kinda tough at first, but after my second and third playthroughs I was able to make it to the ripe old age of 61!

Very nice game, hope you do more with it in the future.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:35am

I survived to 65. This one is cute simple and fun-- capitalizes on the human desire for efficiency... also I love hearing those little guys cheer when they make it.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:46am

Nice entry! I managed to go to age 85! mwahaha! :)
The game is well made and I like how difficulty gradualy increase! Good job! ;)

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Really cool and unique idea, I loved the graphics and music too. I found that it got quite hard to make sure all the people to the right areas, sometimes I would move the bone and it would hit the lower guys into the acid before I could save them!

Skywilly says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:11am

98 ! Real cool game, with a nice idea. Love it !

Big Cow says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:58am

This is so clever! I love the ideas of the body getting older and being in the stomach! Music is "silly" but is appropriate for the style and idea you chose and has a sense of humour about it. Well done for sticking to the two buttons. The wonky bone movement is a bit infuriating but adds an element of hilarity and skill. I wanted to save all the things but I couldn't! Well done!

Tortoise says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:20pm

made it to age 67, pretty fun, nice audio and graphics. Sometimes feels like I cant help but lose health though. Also at on point the platform got stuck at the bottom.

Gjarble says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Great stuff! It's a wonderful take on both themes, with a really cute aesthetic and a decent amount of polish. The gameplay is easy to learn but difficult to master, which is impressive for a game that doesn't rely on familiar genre conventions. You scoped well, and it shows.

I was a bit thrown off by how the controls were demonstrated before the start of the game. Since nutrient people were already spawning during the tutorial, I thought I was already required to guide them to the right body parts, and wasn't sure how to do that with large parts of my view obscured. I like how the nutrients spawn during the title screen, but I'd recommend that you temporarily turn them off during the tutorial.

Also, since the bone-bridge is controlled entirely by the physics engine, it made it a bit difficult to be as precise in my movements as it felt like the game demanded of me. For example, if I have a yellow nutrient quickly followed by a red nutrient, I'd need to raise the bridge as quickly as possible after the yellow nutrient gets off, but I had trouble doing that without accidentally lifting up the yellow one or letting the red one fall before it reaches the top platform. Then again, I reached age 72 on my first try, and since that's a reasonable human lifespan, I guess the game's telling me I did alright, and the game's not too hard. I feel like it's important for the player to feel like each failure is their fault, though (it helps them feel more in control), so maybe it would be better if the bridge were easier to control, but the game was more punishing of individual failures. Then again, the way the nutrients spawn, the player is forced to sacrifice some of them at times, so maybe the higher punishment rate would just make things more frustrating. I dunno... as I can attest from my entry (which you've already played), difficulty balance is *hard* and requires a lot more playtesting with other people than a game jam typically allows.

By the way: while you are allowed to make bug fixes during the rating period, I think balance tweaks are technically not allowed unless they're for a separate "post-jam version". I'm not going to take any points off my rating for that, but I figure you should know for future reference.

eskivor says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:50pm

you have a bone in your stomach ? ok, why not.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]