Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Blob Schmlob (BS)

by SpecialChef - Jam Entry

Blob Schmlob (BS)

A BS Game based on BS themes, but I made it work ;)

You are a cave-dwelling blob. You must rid the cave of the invasive red blobs. They're TERRIBLE room-mates and eat all the food. Seriously, they need to go!

Your controls? Use the left and right arrow keys.

Left: Move Left
Right: Move Right
Double-Tap Either Key: Attack / Wall Jump

Kill the blobs, but don't mess with those that are bigger than you. Gain some protein from the smaller ones, then you can grow bigger and tackle the larger blobs. Kill 10 blobs and hit the button to grow bigger. Then kill the bigger blobs. And so on. Kill the big bully bossy blob. Then you win. It won't say it, but you win :p

Score is top left.
Currently killed blobs since last button press is top right.

Built with Unity 5
SFX by sfxr
"Graphics" by Paint.NET and Tiled

Fixes:
Fixed exiting on escape key-press
Removed weird line artifacts on background

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#360Theme(Jam)3.83
#568Humor(Jam)2.56
#646Graphics(Jam)3.19
#700Audio(Jam)2.16
#713Innovation(Jam)2.84
#725Fun(Jam)2.90
#772Overall(Jam)3.03
#797Mood(Jam)2.79

Comments

utoxin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:18am

Definitely fits the themes, and is a solidly made game. I would have liked a bit more sound, and it's very challenging gameplay for me, so I didn't have as much fun.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:20am

Sorry can't check it on my mac :(

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:26am

Solid game! I really enjoy the look of this. I almost feel like this was a game I played as a kid.
It is a bit difficult, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. I like a good challenge.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:27am

I like how the level wraps back around and lets you take on the big blob from the beginning!

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:28am

@utoxin: The themes were difficult, but glad I could fit them well. Thanks for the compliment. I wanted more sound as well, but I really fell behind this time around. The level was put together quickly for submission and wish I had the chance to design it better and to be less difficult and annoying.

@Monochrome Bears: I'm installing the Mac module for Unity currently and will post up a Mac port ASAP. Thanks for showing interest :D

@tweedle: I'm a huge retro-gaming fan and was aiming for a childhood feel. Glad you saw what I was shooting for. It IS challenging, but given more time, I think the challenge would lean more towards the fun side instead of annoying.

@Weeping Rupee: I would love to build an entire world in this game (remade with better than two-button controls and better graphics/audio of course). I was thinking of Kirby: The Great Cave Offensive for the SNES (on the All-Stars cartridge). In that game, you were taken back to the part you started at. I really liked that feeling. Should I rebuild this concept in a way that fits my vision, that blob at the beginning will have an important role in how the game makes you feel. Thanks for the comment!

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:16am

You need to speed up everything in the scene by a lot. Everything is frustratingly slow. Wall-jumping is much to difficult to do. In terms of level design: I am not a fan at all of blind death pits. Other than that, nice entry!

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:22am

Just wanted to let you know that this game runs fine on Linux with WINE for me.

moltanem2000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:26am

I've been really enjoying the different ways people created deep mechanics using only two buttons and this one is no exception; really enjoyed the varied platforming I was able to do with just left/right

Only complaint really was the couple leaps of faith, especialyl since retracing my steps after death wasn't the most exciting thing, but overall I really enjoyed it! well done.

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:39am

@Monochrome Bears: Mac Version now available!

SSJMetroid: The overall smoothness of gameplay became my ultimate frustration. I really wanted to improve it greatly, but unfortunately, I ran low on time. The blind pits of doom were the result of rushed level design and hate that they existed. Wall-jumping was something I gave up on early on since you could just repeatedly mash buttons to glitch jumps. Planned to come back to it later, but...well (you get the idea). Thanks for the feedback!

@Pietdagamer: Good to hear, I am putting up a Linux port to simplify the process for others not familiar with WINE. Good to hear though! Thanks.

@moltanem2000: The reason I wasted the first 30 hours never touching my keyboard was to ponder a concept that would allow more complex mechanics with just two buttons. I didn't want to use a joystick or mouse because of the gray area of whether that is considered a button or not. I went through many ideas that I would have loved to have done with growing, but couldn't make it work with two buttons. I felt the need to tackle both themes. Originally, when you died, you went to the beginning, so I added checkpoints to the buttons after a growth phase. Still not ideal, but was so much worse. Thank you for your input! :D

middenkwaaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:07am

Nice concept!

AlexLemminG says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Well done, nice idea. There are some glitches on linux(some sprites pops out for a frame and and whole spritesheet sometimes apears right at the center)

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:25pm

I like the artwork, and the controls are nice. It was quite hard for me, and the time you spent waiting was a bit long as well, but nice work!

flakoflak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:35pm

sooooo difficult. Good game!

abuzreq says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Nice!, the restarting after losing could be faster , it made it challenging for them to follow me.

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:27pm

@middenkwaaii: Thanks!

@AlexLemminG: The visual glitches are a side effect of the way sprites were handled. I was converting everything to use dynamically blitted textures at runtime from a master texture instead of sprite sheets and build large textures for display rather than individual objects with individual sprite renderers for every square, but ran short of time. Thanks for the input. BTW, LOVED your submission! The best so far!

@CodeNMore: The difficulty and time-wasting were definitely an oversight on my part. Quick decision-making is not my forte. Thank you for the comment.

@flakoflak: Difficulty was my biggest complaint this LD34 and on my game for LD30 (different username). Apparently I have some learning to do on level design :p Thank you

@abuzreq: The enemy-following only happens with a distance of 13 units I believe. Beyond that and their AI mechanism is disabled until you are within proximity. After death, their positions are reset anyways. Definitely painfully slow to respawn though. Will keep that in mind for future projects. Thank you!

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:14pm

It was an interesting feature that the enemies stayed dead between plays. And uncommon way of killing them with the dashing. It was quite hard though, I didn't get very far. And as that, it would have been nice with a little quicker death-sequence to respawn. If the game would have started a little easier too, it would have been better. Being surrounded by 3 enemies right when you start isn't very friendly ;) Nice entry though.

Efuvex says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:30am

Thanks for the mac port. Also the graphics are adorable.

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:12pm

@local minimum: Staying dead between plays was super important to me in order to reduce the repetitive gameplay that was expected from a jam. Makes it a little less painful to die and I'm sure many more people completed the level than ould have otherwise. That being said, I can still see how people are frustrated. Level design is never something that should be taken lightly. I wished I had more time to really put the level on paper, and organize it in a way that is fun. Mario / Kirby style. I downloaded a map editor and started placing blocks, exporting the map to a CSV file and just rendering to a texture at runtime. Thanks for the constructive feedback. It is always appreciated!

@Efuvex: Glad the port worked. Didn't test it until 24 hours after uploading it. Oops? Glad the sprites were adorable. It is simple programmer's art. I chose blobs because they don't have hair, legs, or arms. Simple to do a 2-frame animation. Then just do a hue shift for the enemies :p Pondering on how to further this concept and definitely leaning towards a cute and adorable style. Thank you for commenting!

Trizek35 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Great game overall ! The physic collisions are a bit clumsy on the corners, the game is a bit hard but we always want to retry so thats positive

alliel_a says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:42am

nice game

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Funny game, the character is adorable. It's a interesting concept.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]