Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Slash Quest

by Big Green Pillow ft Mgaia - Jam Entry

Slash Quest is a small game by @BigGreenPillow and @mgaiastudio :D

As the theme was "two button controls" and "growing", in this game you'll have to manage limited controls and help a courageous little knight swing (and stumble) his evergrowing sword to victory.

Killing enemies you grow the sword to activate totems and access new areas.

Music and SFX by Breakmaster Cylinder: https://soundcloud.com/breakmaster-cylinder

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall(Jam)4.56
Fun(Jam)4.33
Graphics(Jam)4.84
Coolness52%
#4Innovation(Jam)4.35
#7Theme(Jam)4.63
#13Mood(Jam)4.38
#14Audio(Jam)4.35
#71Humor(Jam)3.82

Comments

wine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Wow! This is amazing! Super cute art and animations. Hard to move for the first time but it's still fun and the whole idea is very interesting. Well done! :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:44pm

My favorite entry so far ! Really good job, thx for this experience :D

chaomoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:50pm

really cool game! the controls are a little hard at first but then they're pretty easy to use. definitely a cool concept. i love the art soo much too. only issue is that i couldn't figure out what to do to get past the 2nd room.

tharealjohn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:52pm

I have a feeling this will be my favorite. Well done. Love the art, sound and gameplay. Was a little hard at first to control, but quickly got the hang of it.

Was hoping for some more content / mechanics. Sorry to see it end.

et1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:01pm

This is incredible. Gorgeous graphics, animation, and sound.

At first, I somehow failed to notice the sword grew longer after killing enemies, and shortened after hitting obstacles. I kept doing both enough that they mostly canceled each other out. Had to come back and read the description. Once that was done, everything came together really well. This might be my favorite entry. Would work great on mobile devices.

thelasthour says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Wow... this is incredible for 72 hours! Everything looks so great and smooth. And it's really fun too. Only game I've rated 5 stars so far! Amazing job! You should be very proud.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:02pm

This is awesome. Everything plays so smoothly. I just wish there was a way to move and spin together. I demand a third button! Haha.

thiagoferraro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:02pm

<3

sleepYxy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Wow, this game is so hard once your sword gets too big :D

You really came up with an innovative way to use two buttons for movement.
The art and sound effects are really cute, this easily one of my favourite games this far.

Simonaiso says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Brilliant! Your creativity has sprouted something really nice with those themes. Nice to play and nice art as well!

Shurty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Love the art, and the game mechanics. really awesome !!!
But i got 1 issue : I couldnt go throught the tutorial Level. I killed monsters, small pink ones, but nothings happens.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Definitely my favorite entry so far. Great work on the graphics and music.

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Congratulations! This game is awesome! One of the best I have played so far

WERT Studio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:08pm

neat graphics and the mechanic is great and smart

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Art is adorable. :) The sword growing mechanic reminds me of 3d dot heroes on ps3. Really fun! Certainly one of my favorite LD34 games. Was kinda hoping for a boss at the end though.

donvermo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Amazing work, both fun and innovative I really like what you did here.

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:21pm

First game I rated 5/5 on everything. Amazing.
Two minor things:
1. When you take damage, the "juice" is not on par with the optimal level of rest of the game.
2. It wasn't clear ingame what was needed to go to the next level.

Transmit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:25pm

First 5 star I've given out this Ludum Dare. Amazing work.

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Awesome game guys =D , I realy love the concept and the gameplay, the graphics were also very good.

Eldraev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Awesome game! I love the simplistic style. The controls are smart and the game-play is challenging but fair. The only complaint I could have would be that it is a bit on the short side but it makes up for it with its ending.

timeshapers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Beautiful. But I got bored waiting for enemies to spawn on the first level.

Knowledge says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Great game!

Rocketship says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:43pm

What an adorable game, loved the music and how it fit the rest of the game especially! Swinging the sword felt pretty good but I feel you could have juiced it up still a bit more with some sound effects. The controls were frustrating at times but you had a good solution to the two button problem. Good job all around!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:44pm

That is one smooth experience! I can't even tell you how much I enjoyed the art style, animation and overall design. Great work!

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:52pm

That was awesome, really cool concept.

Tyler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Single. Best. Entry. Yet! Super fun, quirky, humorous, addicting... Just wish there was more!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Best game I played in this LDJAM. Not making it into a full game would be mistake. Mandaram muito bem!

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03pm

The best so far. Really nice work.

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Oh my goodness this is full of greatness! So smooth and buttery, and also very cute. Absolutely nailed the two button control and growing themes!

fafastudio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Really cool !! :) Love the art and the kawai sword !

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:41pm

FIVE!FIVE!FIVE EVERYWERE!
This game is incredibily awesome!!
Very interesting idea and damn awesome using of the controls. It's not very comfortable, but the this little knight is to small to hold dat big sword, that's why I think it all plays out!
Marvelous design and graphinks, sweet music and sounds.
I very like the feeling of sword pushing from the rock, you just feeling it and this little moments makes this game so awesome.
In my opinion, this is the best game on this jam.

Didi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Super cute! Loved chars and that the sword is a character too! Awesome

Donar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Great Art and Great Sound. The Game itself is also pretty neat. I find it really hard to control though. Especially when I want to stop rotating and it take like a second to stop - sure, makes it look more smooth but it makes it also really hard to navigate.

Anyway, an overall well-made game.

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Magic

Rob_Haines says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:19pm

This was super-cute, & I loved the art-style. Unfortunately while it ran smooth for the initial tutorial, the moment the enemies spawned the whole game chugged down to single-digit framerate & made it impossible to aim the sword. Clearly something in my PC setup disagrees with it.

Disappointed, as I'd have liked to play more.

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Very hot game! Super enjoyable in every aspect. Ok, the movement was hard at times. Top little game!

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:45pm

I think there's an issue running in 4:3 ratio screens - menus and text fall off the screen. Love the game, it took a while to get the hang of how things work (possibly because of the screen issue).

nodens says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:52pm

An excellent combination of both themes! The aesthetic is fantastic and really contributes a lot to the game's feel. I had a lot of fun playing this and would love to see something come from it.

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Great work! 5's across the board!

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Wow, it's probably the best game i've played so far! Very well done! Everything is completly lovely and nice and fun! (just some text that didn't fit in the screen :( ) Well done, I want to play more of this!

tgrehawi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Very well done!

ronniepedra says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Liked a lot! Pretty fun and well resolved art!

Dexyne says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:29am

Great! Really interesting in the gameplay and fine arts.
Need a bit of time to take the movements in hands! :D

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:34am

Amazing entry, loved the art style. Really great game. :)

Andrei says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:38am

Pro job. Congratulations! Really well executed in so few time.
I took a time to understand how to active the path to the next area.

elliottd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:54am

wonderfully polished and cute

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:41am

Beautiful game. Super polished. Very cute style and aesthetic. Very clever way of dealing with the two button limit. Using the sword as direction and weapon made it comically unwieldy. We had a ton of fun playing. Great job guys!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:06am

Outstanding entry. Everything all of the animations are extremely smooth and satisfying. I love the personality of the sword, and feel really bad when I accidentally hit the gemstones (which is a lot). The music and sfx fit perfectly. The overall aesthetics are just wonderful. Great work.

lawendt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:09am

I think that is the most polished game that I've seen here at LD34.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:09am

Really nicely done. Cute graphics. Incorporated both themes. It started to cause my fan to spin up and the framerate to drop after several levels, but until then it was really fun.

adamk33n3r says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:16am

Stunning. The music really hit me. Loved that. I would love to be able to play that as background music while I work.

broknecho says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:43am

Wowzer. Amazing job! Definitely one of the top games I've played. Super great job!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:09am

Wow what a wonderful game!! The controls felt really good, I loved swinging the sword around, and moving wasn't as frustrating as it could have been, haha. The whole design worked really well too! The sword growing gave you lots of advantages, like reach and getting to new areas, but it also got in the way with those gold rocks as well! Also the variance in enimies was really solid. The music was good and the art style was wonderful! I loved that the sword had that face. Absolutely incredible job!! I loved it. :D

psychomonster says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:25am

Good job. This is a really beautiful game with interessting mechanics and really nice artwork... +1 artwork +1 characters :D

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:38am

I love it! Animations are juicy as hell and the art style is gorgeous. Two-Button-Controls was executed perfectly. Really great job!!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:41am

Wow!! This is really great. Super smart use of both themes and really adorable, well polished art. Love the vibes. A little more feedback on how you reach the next platform would be helpful. It wasn't too clear that hitting the statue created the bridge at first. Awesome work!

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Wow! Really awesome game! So clever on the two buttons gameplay :)! Huge congrats!

Pixel-boy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Unfortunatly a bit slow on my computer but really like the concept and art, a very polished game nice work !

Davision says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Great looking game with cool concept but it clearly suffers from the 2 buttons restriction, when you don't press A and D at the exact same time you go off in a different direction you wanted which happened often for me. It took me a bit to realize that I had to hit the monkey statue to get further on the 2nd isle. The isles with the bunnies instantly wrecked me.

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:21pm

While the controls feel a bit too.. loose, the game is actually pretty fun. And the graphics are quite fun. Overall, a very good game.

utgarda says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Art is awesome, music is well done, everything is adorably cute and funny. More levels would be cool, and maybe you could bend the rules a little bit and add a quit button.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Wow, great game! It's so pretty! And nice gameplay! I love swinging the sword left and right, feels great, good job! My only concern is that the game is so short... Make 10 or 12 blocks more! Keep it up!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:36pm

This is so great! But the fade out to white just means that it was all just a dream all along right? Is there a way to get hearts back? Besides really great entry, very polished and elegant! Super well done! Congrats!

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:45pm

I sincerely dislike those bunnies. They are evil! Great game. Quite hard to manage the controls and I think as for the quality of the game, it would improve and become even better if you make a version with more than two buttons. I liked the progression. Art style is just fantastic. The thing that was a bit annoying was that if you had managed to cut down your sword really short you had to wait for spawns before you could activate bridge to next area. Or so it seemed.

In the title screen I had the feeling that some of the text might have ended up outside the display area/camera. Probably just a small fix. It would also have been nice to exit the game somehow.

Great entry all in all though.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:35pm

a bit hard to master the control of the character, but overall a very, very cool entry!

domo_demo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:19pm

really cute game, i love it :) just a little bug with the aspect ratio in fullscreen. best use of the theme!

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Love the art style so much!

careless says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:28am

Loved the look and feel of the game. Graphics were very nice actually, loved the glowing sword and the bit of personality given by the little face.

Took me a little while to figure out that I had to kill a wave then hit the stone thing to open the next area.

Movement was no fun at all though, shame you had not stuck to just the growing theme :D

Managore says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:35am

An amazing experience! Absolutely lovely use of theme.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:43am

Beautiful game, however the controls were pretty frustrating. Great attempt at innovating with the two button controls!

CremaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:15am

Wow! I really liked what you made here. Such a beautiful, smart game. One of the best ones I've seen so far and easily a good game for mobile devices if you keep working on it.

BroCade says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:26am

Really enjoyed playing this! Excellent and solid entry!

blackmagic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:21am

Cannot play because am french and neither arrows neither zqsd neither gamepad can be mapped :'(

David Cookie says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Perfect, simply perfect! Great job :D

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Wow this absolutely beautiful! AMazing graphics/mood/sound :D The integration of both themes is also amazing! 5/5 :D

sydan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Sadly this game is almost unplayable for me on Windows 10. It is super smooth up until the monsters spawn and then it lags so badly I can't position my sword! I tried lowering the quality settings and screen resolution but it makes no difference :( I really want to play it! It looks amazing!

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:03pm

this has to be one of the most interesting games i played this ludum dare. nice gfx, nice sfx, nice music, nice mood.

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:42am

It's a great entry, graphics are great, everything works properly, sound and music are great. I just think it was a little too easy and the ending could be better. I guess even with two studios 3 days is not enough time to put everything in. Thanks for creating this beauty.

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:30am

amazing entry, one of the best I played so far. it feel really cohesive with the music art and gameplay. amazing for 72 hours. only thing I disliked are the controls. I was usable but it would've been more enjoyable with something like mouse and keyboard

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:10am

Absolutely wonderful! Brilliant art, silky smooth gameplay, just all around awesome! Great Job!

randomhuman says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Ha ha, that sword is so cute :) WEEEE! This game is brilliant in every respect.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:47am

Nice game! Both themes used perfectly =)
The comform control mechanic with two buttonw usually is a problem. But you have done well! Visuals are great! This speaking sword is very cute =)
Unfortunately, game is too short =(

huminaboz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:26am

Very impressive. Double nailed the theme. Cute fun art. Audio and art fit together well. Feel good. Feel real good.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:30pm

The animation and graphics are incredible, and the gameplay is simple but fun. Feels very polished. To me it is one of the best games I've played so far.

TiByte says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:36pm

It get's very laggy when emulating with Wine on Ubuntu 14.04

Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:13am

Cool! Took me a while to realize how to cross the water but could just be my rusty old brain from too many LDJAM games. Or not reading the description. xD

Otherwise, I really enjoyed this. Nice work.

Tselmek says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:51am

Nice audio and graphics. The extreme lag made playing the game almost impossible but the few gameplay I could taste felt really great.

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Pretty much a perfect jam entry - ended too soon, so hopefully we'll see an expanded version in the future!

scorched says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Liked the graphics and controls, but enemies spawn too rarely!
Also in fullscreen mode the text doesn't fit

lurils says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:09pm

really good in every sense, one of the most complete/nicest game I playied this LD.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:38am

my favorite of the jam so far - well done - amazing - how did you do the squishy effects with Unity?

Eingya says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Great concept and interesting controls, but the game built around it, while entertaining, doesn't really seem to fit.

At least for me the most fun of using those control is the wildness and unpredictability of the movement and the slashing. I feel that a more hacky-and-slashy version of this would be so much more fun than a precision based puzzle.

Anyhow, still a fun and engaging game, well done!

crazya02 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:57pm

oh my god that sword looks so goddamn happy

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Super great. The art is absolutely beautiful, and there's so much charm oozing out of this game. Movement was pretty tricky to do accurately because of the speed and momentum of the sword, but perhaps that's part of the character of the game. Love it!

cameronpenner says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:36am

WOW! Well done! The graphics, sound, and gameplay were all great! Also, I really felt bad for the sword whenever I hit the rocks, the face was a nice touch! (also, I'm pretty sure you're not supposed to distribute the .pdb files with the game. You could reduce your download size significantly)

cimbaman says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:55am

Absolutely fantastic...

Almax27 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Such cute, much polish. The controls took a little getting used to but they weren't awkward. Loved the aesthetic, the only fault I could find is with the AI pathing/facing direction glitching out if an obstacle was immediately between them and me. Otherwise fantastic work!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Very cute, great and fun entry! The bunnies though, man... the bunnies...

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:23pm

I've seen alot of games try to cram the two themes in to their own detriment... this game manages to do it really well and make it work for your theme and mechanics. Also the visual style here is stunning, the music, ugh damn...
Its so cute that the terrible violence I'm doing to these swamp creatures feels good.

You win. You win so bad you make me wanna quit.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:28pm

I love art, I love the mechanics, is funny and meet all goals. really an amazing job!!

Gordy says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:50pm

:ooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Joror says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Top notch, smooth polish all around. :D
(and a nice hook with the StarWarzes ;))

Core is good, might need some control tweaking to make the swing startup a little slower (to give players a little more control)

Herzucco says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Awesome graphics, good job !

sonelliot says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Amazing. I love the art style and the gameplay is tight. Superb work guys! You should be proud. I'd definitely love to see a post-jam version of this. :)

sikosis says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:46am

Fantastic job. The graphics with animations and gameplay was just something else. Top shelf.

akirassasin says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:48am

Super polished and great, how did you guys make such epic games in 72 hours?
I think you should increase the enemy spawn rate, or those who keep hitting the stones (me) will never get past level 2...

Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:57am

This game is just awesome but it was barely playable on my rather old PC... Please, work on optimisation a little bit more! Otherwise 5/5 in almost every category

FrederickK says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:17am

Man, what a wonderful and hard game!
Well done!
Could have some checkpoints...please... t-t

klianc09 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 6:01pm

All around, this game is really amazing! Left me wanting more, so that's a very good sign. Only complaint I have is, that part of the text was outside of my screen, but that's a very minor thing.
It feels really awesome cutting through everything with a giant sword.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 7:15pm

A little buggy on my old PC, but still I managed to finish it. Really good entry, nice take of both themes, and funny design. Good job !

Diventurer says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Innovative controls and amazing graphics and mood! I love how wack the enemies look! :D

Ithildin says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Brilliant entry! Art style is lovely, and sound is fitting, too. At first I thought that controlling movement the way it's implemented would be tricky, but it works perfectly fine.

Congrats, you've done a great job!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:18am

Wow, seriously I love this game!
Awesome and cute entry, very polished and elegant. I liked the controls and the growing sword (so cute). Congrats, that was my favorite entry!!

dx0ne says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 5:09pm

It's beautiful, simple, challenging, cure. There is not a single thing for improvement. Love LD for such gems.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:52am

Perfect! :D hilarious, polished, great music, art, mood, and use of both themes :) great job

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Not sure why, but this game is too laggy for me to play :(

which is a shame, because it looks really good!

AlexaCol says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:33am

Amazing game really fun

AlexaCol says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:41am

Amazing game really fun, my fav game for now!

Bacontree says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:47am

Brilliant theme interpretation and great art style. I really enjoyed it.

FiSilva says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Amazing art, really good take on BOTH themes, and really fun to play!

Stals says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Love it, the visuals, sound and mechanics. The momentum on the sword is an awesome idea.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Great take on the theme

camlang says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 9:00am

Love the animations and overall look! If you just skip the theme and make conventional controls after LD it will be a solid game.

Yakka says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Very elegant gameplay!

Aaranos says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 9:19pm

Bravo, this game is really good. There is a bit of difficulty in dodging the projectiles but there has to be some difficulty. The level was also made in a way that you could learn the mechanics at a good pace. I just wish it had more levels.

LittleThor says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:00am

This concept is so smart. Il love it!
I was doubtful about the controls at first, but it in fact, they work very well!
I don't speak about art and music, of course, they are perfect.
Awesome work guys!

Miltage says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:40pm

This game looks fantastic and the sword mechanics are great, even though the steering mechanic is a little hard to master. Awesome entry, guys!

PeteDS says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:47pm

Really good, can take a while to figure out the controls and they do require some skill haha! Can also take a while to figure out where you're supposed to go but overall and awesome game!

oparisy says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:56pm

That game has everything! Various foes and mechanics, gorgeous graphics, cute atmosphere, great sounds. Thanks, had a great time playing it.

Oye Beto says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:15pm

What a polished game. Not only the graphics are gorgeous but the game is very fun. I liked the music and SFX too.

kmakai says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:46pm

Really love the style, it fits so well with the music and sound effects! The gameplay itself is really interesting, I like that both themes fit together so well for this concept. Great job, I would definitely play more!

xdigdoug says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:00pm

Very well done, it's cute and fun to play. A little hard to move because you can only go where the sword is pointed though.

pixelpotions says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:09pm

Brilliant! Super hard but really fun once mastered!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:34pm

Great game! It was very satisfying murdering those cute little enemies, and I appreciated how forgiving the game was. Audio and art were fantastic. All 5s from me!

rallybilen says ...
Jan 12, 2016 @ 8:07pm

wow! fantastic game. All parts were great. I would def play a complete game. Super nice :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]