Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Spirit Serenade

by Ardent Skylight - Jam Entry

Web Client and Downloadables don't have scroll bars.

LMB - Attack | RMB - Parry

Spirit Serenade is a wave defense game, where you, the knight, stave off hordes of evil beings in order to protect the last true power on the eternal plane AKA 'The Core'. Use your masterful control of the blade to take down the evil false lords and feed their power to The Core. As The Core grows in power so do you, as The Core grows it will imbue you with powerful buffs that will aid in your conquest of the false lords.

Can you defeat all of the false lords and rise to power on the eternal plane?

Waves and boss appearances are completely randomized to give a fresh experience every play-through.

Cerberus boss was pulled because it didnt meet our standards for the jam. Will be released in a future update. The entire Unity project is downloadable through the source code link.

If you enjoy this short project feel free check us out on Twitter @exceedgame for live updates on our other project Exceed Academy, an online PvP/PvE battle arena game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#137Audio(Jam)3.77
#177Mood(Jam)3.68
#262Graphics(Jam)3.91
#414Overall(Jam)3.42
#490Innovation(Jam)3.18
#573Theme(Jam)3.61
#573Fun(Jam)3.09

Comments

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50am

Super hard for me, which makes it hard for me to appreciate the full extent of the creativity gone into the game.

adamk33n3r says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:34am

Visually appealing. Very hard. Couldn't get past the first boss. Great work!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:49am

Sorry about the difficulty, we will push out a balance change ASAP. We stuck it on a curve to get it out of the gate and ready for LD34.

alvaromartin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:59am

Took forever to load! Nice game I like the wave concept. I loved the music. Good job!

Zknet says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:10am

I really enjoyed it. Definitely challenging, but fun.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:12am

The web build of this game is so laggy and it is barely playable. I like the graphics though.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:18am

The graphic style was really cool!

Pandaman3D says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:18am

Pretty premium :)

aplomb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:22am

Very cool atmosphere and graphics. I didn't get the point of parrying until the first boss arrived -- that's where it really hits its stride. So hard!

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:35am

I love the idea for this game, and it's clear you guys put in a lot of effort, the variety of enemies is great! The game is gorgeous, very visually striking, but extremely difficult. I think most of the challenge came from the controls: I think perhaps locking the player's direction to pointing away from the nexus could help, as I don't think the aiming of the sword really benifits the game. I'm not entirely sure of the value of parrying, I think I blocked a ranged enemy's shot once, but couldn't do it again and had to watch as it took my nexus down from 76 to 0 by itself. Is the ranged enemy Satan? Cause it's hard.

I think that aside from balancing, this game could really be improved by locking the player's direction away from the nexus and adding a small knockback to the enemies you hit so that your weapon has more punch to it. And make parrying a tiny bit more forgiving.

Overall though, great effort, can't wait to see what you guys do with this and look forward to the balanced version you guys say you're putting out soon :)

timeshapers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:49am

Has a lot of potential! Very smooth and fun controls. Really missing some visual feedback for hitting enemies.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:53am

Very, very difficult. Tried 4 times and could not clear the second wave. Overall aesthetics are great, the experience is quite polished and good, but the difficulty kills it.

Noticed one bug: attempting to play the game a second time spawned no enemies; we had to relaunch for each playthrough.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:04am

Hi! Sorry about the balance issues. We are going to sort those out as soon as possible. Having the knockback on the enemies is definitely something that we were planning on doing. We agree that there is definitely a need for some visual feedback when you are hitting an enemy. Please check back soon!

WitchLake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Very hard but so great!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Alright. Fixed up the balancing issues. Enjoy!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:13pm

The normal wave are a little bit repetitive, but i loved to played vs boss :D Nice gameplay

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Very nice music, really builds the tension with the boss battle! Good graphics also, would have kept playing if I had some time.

The non-boss levels are a bit easy I feel. Might need some balancing

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:40pm

The visuals were killer, but you guys are better off balancing the level design. Maybe make enemies slower or the player stronger, otherwise awesome work guys!

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Good use of theme, and the graphics and music were very nice. Cool game!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:28pm

hard but cool!

hiki911 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:55pm

game is fun, but there are some performance problem on my PC

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:46am

this was one of the best game i played - outstanding work here - great game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]