Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Fat Cat: Cosmo's Quest

by MiggyGMan - Jam Entry

Fat Cat is about a confused cat named Cosmo and his quest to become a fat cat so he can live the good "Fat Cat" life. Will this lovable cat eat enough sushi to reach his dreams of reaching the "Fat Cat" status, did he choose the "Fat Cat" life or did it choose him? PLAY AND FIND OUT.

Instructions:
- Use Space Bar to eat sushi when it is on the red place-mat, but make sure it matches the sushi in the frame or Cosmo will be a sorry cat (lose a heart).
- Fill the progress bar with good Sushi fatness to progress to next level.
- You have three hearts and thus three allowed mistakes before Cosmo becomes a sick cat

Tools Used:
- Coding: Eclipse(Java), libGDX, Overlap2D
- Art: Paint.net, Photoshop CC
- Music: Finale Notepad, FL Studio, SFX

p.s. "Fat Cat" is a saying for a rich person

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#157Humor(Jam)3.47
#513Audio(Jam)3.00
#515Fun(Jam)3.16
#615Theme(Jam)3.58
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#710Graphics(Jam)3.06
#748Overall(Jam)3.06
#828Innovation(Jam)2.65

Comments

Eviternity says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:23am

Best game ever. I really like the music.

Juin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Really liked the music and the art, i think there should have been some sort of score screen at the end or something i felt like i got pretty far, but it still just said Game Over.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:45am

Your game, and especially music is so great

lurils says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:20am

it's a fun game, could be better balanced so it doesn't suddenly changes right when you click it, but quite nice in general.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:46am

It was pretty fun, but there needs to be some indication that the food will change soon, and the music got a bit abrasive.

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:25am

Fun for the most part, but got a bit repetitive. The music was pretty good and I appreciated the opening cut scene. Good job!

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:29am

The music was pretty nice and it was cute! The pictures kept changing like a split second before I selected the item, which was a little bit annoying. Good job!

Quadnozzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:38am

Cat games unite! This was fun. The music gets repetitive and the early levels can drag on as you wait for a match to happen. But the later levels are a fun challenge. Nice one!

huminaboz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:41am

Those cut scenes and voice actings are adorable. Good mechanics. (Beatable too)

doos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:00am

That is one awesome game.. Had to play it till I completed it! :) The box art needs to be improved till it is as good as the game!!

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:56am

Pro:
+ Cute story, art and music (though a little repetitive)
+ Challenging (mostly the last levels)
Con:
- The changing of picture felt a bit unfair, always changing right before getting eating the sushi

Nice entry!

MrMordem says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:58am

Fun little game, it has a minor issue, sometimes you get the right sushi coming up and the required one changes before you can even react, otherwise its a good game overall, had some fun, and +1 for having some voice acting and the "barf" sound when you eat the wrong sushi was quite funny :D

Zener says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:25am

hahahah, crazy!! Very cute, good music and cats!

eerongal says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Nice little game. The music and graphics were great, the VA was a bit rough. The mechanics sometimes felt unfair because of how randomly the edible choice changed. Nice work!

Dreyan says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:00am

Intro was definitely amusing, audio is nice and fits well with the game. I wish the target sushi didn't change so frequently (or so suddenly without warning - perhaps something like having the image blink before switching out could have made it feel more fair?) as it seems to change often right when you eat one. Got very repetitive after a few tries. Overall quite fun, very enjoyable ^^

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:53pm

RNG plz =(

The intro was adorable though!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]