Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super Duper Stacker Supreme

by Ayaya33 - Jam Entry

EDIT: I accidentally uploaded the Windows-64 version, I changed it to Windows-32 now.


"Super Duper Stacker Supreme" is a game where you have to stack boxes on top of each other in order to get the highest score possible.

While it is pretty much a Stacker clone, I also added the ability to go into "Slow-Mo" so that you can get a more precise stack.
The boxes also slowly shrink the higher you get.

Tell me what the highest score you could get was! (personally I can't even reach 100)

----------

Installation Instructions:

Windows: Extract the "windows" folder and run the .exe file inside. Easy.

Linux: Install LOVE (love2d.org) then run the .love file with "love SuperDuperStackerSupreme.love" in the "linux" directory.

Mac: If you have LOVE installed I think you can just run the .love file in the Linux folder. I don't have a Mac to test on though, sorry.


Controls:

Left Click to stack
Right Click to slow-mo

The more you stack the more slow-mo you can use

That's about it.

----------
I used:

Lua/love2d
Paint.NET
ZeroBrane Studio

----------

And now for a story:

I wanted to enter Ludum Dare 34 from the start, but I couldn't think of a good game for the theme(s) so I decided to just do my own thing instead.

Fast forward to 6 hours before the end of Ludum Dare 34 and I had an idea, so I ran with it as fast as I could, pretty much just to challange myself at this point.

Due to the fact I finished this game in 5 hours I didn't have the time I'd have liked to add music, graphics and enhanced the gameplay a bit more, but atleast I got something out in the end.

This is also only my 2nd day using Lua/LOVE2D, so there's that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#111Fun(Jam)3.74
#200Theme(Jam)4.04
#362Overall(Jam)3.48
#555Innovation(Jam)3.09
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:37am

I wasn't able to run because I'm on a 32bit windows and apparently I need a 64bit windows to play it :/

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:43am

LOL I love the name!! the game isn't too bad either!

Ayaya33 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:53am

EDIT: I accidentally added the 64bit version. I uploaded the 32bit version onto itch.io now, SORRY!

limered says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Nice one for a 5h game. I too had only 5h for mine. You nailed the theme perfectly!

timeshapers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:12pm

better gameplay than a lot of other games that had a lot more time put into them.

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:33pm

I was finally able to play it, thanks to the last update :D
Thats one of the funniest game I've played on this game jam. Every time I lose, I wanna start again, that's a really good concept !

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:54pm

awesome! very creative, one of the most original I've played so far :) well done!

lordsavage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Pity you could only get 5hrs, would have loved to see what you could have done with the rest of the time.

Good work.

Nichii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:28pm

This was addictive. I can say it's really fun but honestly not really original. Good use of the theme really. I can give you that :D

Dege says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:50pm

it's really addictive! i liked it and really good for a 5h game!

gv1351 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:33am

Less is more

LittleThor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Nice work for a game made in only 5 hours.
Idea to improve the game (with time to do it): broken physics to make the game harder!

josefnpat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Nice game! I'm not sure the slowdown mechanic was very useful considering how fast the blocks went, but nevertheless a solid game!

Aumni says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:00am

Pretty cool for a 5h game, congrats !
I would play a few more game :)

Evannex says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:55am

Great little game, solid gameplay, especially for only 5 hours! I only managed to get to 41.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:24am

Awesome idea! Very innovative! Enjoyed it a lot! c:

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]