Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

AscenS

by SayRafon - Compo Entry

Grow up and reach the top of the tree before the countdown ends but be avoid obstacles and ennemies !
You can play it with Keyboard or Xbox KeyPad !
just use Q and D on your keyboard ( sorry, it's AZERTY ^^)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#554Theme3.64
#598Mood2.80
#703Fun2.83
#823Overall2.79
#854Innovation2.39

Comments

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:51pm

What file do i open to run the game? :o

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:51pm

C'est trop chou ce jeu. Est-ce que c'est toi qui joue aux cordes ? Bravo, dommage que les graphismes ne soient pas plus travaillés !

2pae says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:53pm

It's simple but it work, the music is good.

Shared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Bon jeu, l'idée est sympa, mais t'aurais pu traduire le jeu mdr.
Les graphismes sont biens et le gameplay est fluide

Boberro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Movement is little wonky, and "hot spot" for grabbing power-ups could be bigger - I wasn't able to grab anything, even a fly.
Regardless, it's a solid working game.

SayRafon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Le jeu est traduit en anglais, il suffit de passer ton ordinateur en anglais ;)
Just run the shortCut "AscenS" in the main file to run the game, it's suppose to work ^^
In other case, run "Ascens.swf" in the bin file !

AnaGF says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Yep, I did it!
Nice work, it's simple but funny.

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:10pm

got the following error.
Not Found

The requested URL /Swf/Ascens/Ascens.html was not found on this server.

SayRafon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Sorry about that, I just solved the problem ^^

luysse_l says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:14pm

bunna idea

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Got a high of 65. I found the controls hard to work with: there's no keyboard acceleration and you move super quick, so it's very hard to aim the plant.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:28pm

I enjoyed playing this game. It gets really hard in the end though... But overall nice gameplay.

candlesan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:52am

Very challenging! Got almost to the top but didn't quite make it.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Really liked the music, simple but fit the game well. Got to the green part... maybe there needs to be a lull before it builds up again?

ragnta says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Nice game, but a little bit hard. :)

Dianouille says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Nice gameplay. Not really innovative, bit still fun, I like playing it.

StMatn says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Nice work there :)
The shortcut didn't work for me, but the html file finally did.
The game gets quite hard when the red bugs start to spawn. It was pretty fun to play.

Knowledge says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Good game but not very much.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Nice job. The gameplay is simple, but well done. The controls are a bit weird. Especially when you're on the edge of the tree, when you can move a little bit more to the edge, but it snaps back when you release the key. Music is very well done!

Geck0 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Nice idea!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:08pm

In the web version the tree graphic is offset too much to the left so it looks like you can move where you can't. Got hard quickly! Nice idea of vine + 2-btn.

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Nice game.
Reminds me of those bullet-hell games, only way more relaxing ;)
However I found it a bit confusing that I couldn't move completely to the left or right although it looked like it from the picture.
But nice entry.

elizeu says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Funny :) Good Job!

Mantlair says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Enjoyed. Well done!

Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:36pm

I actually liked the controls, they are very responsive though a little bit too fast.
I was offset in the position of the tree, i could not go to the leftmost side of it but could go to the rightmost side.
The sound and music are very cool but could use a little bit of compression.
Good game overall!

camlang says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Funny game! It's hard a little to control player. It's completed game with good sounds. Very good entry! Well done!

Waynetron says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:17pm

I liked that it had an ending, reaching the sky. Made me feel good. Would have been nice if you left the music playing.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]