Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growing Gordon

by XbooperxdX - Compo Entry

Gordon for some reason is growing. Dont question why. He's also in a strange world full of slimes and strange platforms. Once again, don't question it. As time progresses, he grows more, and if he grows to big, he dies. If he makes it to the end of the level though, he will live! Hooray! Here's the catch; you can only move right and jump. No going back here.

First time participating!

-Challenging
-Retro graphics
-6 Whole levels! Wowzers!
-Tutorial that makes the game looks easy
-Growth!
-Perma death. You know what that means! YOU DIE IN THE GAME, YOU START ALL OVER AGAIN!
-2 Button Controls!
-Background music!
-VOICE ACTING!
-AND MORE!

A fun and challenging 2D platformer made in 48 hours

Edit: Thank you for everyone who rated and gave criticism. Good to know what to look out for in next Lundum Dare and bigger projects!
Gordon appreciates your help!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#39Humor3.87
#135Audio3.50
#210Mood3.40
#301Theme3.94
#463Fun3.17
#591Overall3.11
#718Innovation2.72
#743Graphics2.58
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

sharpfrog4 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:04am

Not bad. 8/10. 9/10 with rice.

brandloose says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06am

Jumping seemed buggy and the whole one life thing really buttered my biscuits. Otherwise, game was so-so, audio was probably the best thing.

Dimitri0xFF says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:14am

Great music!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:59pm

You managed to use both themes which is laudable, even if the growing mechanic only serves as a time limit.
As such it's a shame that imprecise controls and faulty hit boxes kill any enjoyment to be had here.
Platformers, particularly endless runners, live and die on those faculties.

Most of my deaths were due to the aforementioned issues which makes starting all over again, every time, even more aggravating.
Checkpoints at the start of each level would at least allow people to get though all the levels.
Perma-death is not a useful feature without randomization, challenging mechanics or both.

A restart from checkpoint button would be a nice user interface improvement as well.

vhaugan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Perma-death just isn't a good idea in a game as trial and error-y as this one. A bit buggy, otherwise the gameplay is pretty fun.

AlexaCol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Great game, the sound effects are great!

flyingbear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:03am

Was interesting when I wanted to go left but couldn't due to the 2 button restriction. I didn't get what the purpose of growing was, would've been nice to have a game mechanic tied to it. Oh, and super harsh to start you all the way over!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:06am

Good game but I think the one-life was unforgiving. Keep it up!

REIN1 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:38am

Good arts ! Great sfx !

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:09am

Good. I like platformers, as it's a genre enough versatile to fill all requirements. Lame some problems with collisions, but great overall. Good done!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:38am

very clever game - jumping and collisions was slightly buggy - was stuck in a wall for some time - nice job

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Jump to right -> fall into offscreen lava -> restart from beginning of game -> sadface

Good job nonetheless.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]