Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

RollingFlames

by BunchaSapsGames - Jam Entry

A simple game about a flame growing larger and larger. Move with the arrow keys and dash with Z or left click.

Created by Logan Nunamaker, Alexander Freedman, Jacob Kennedy and Brandon Aronhalt.

Music and SFX are from Looperman and Freesound

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#108Humor(Jam)3.67
#262Fun(Jam)3.48
#267Mood(Jam)3.53
#454Theme(Jam)3.74
#456Innovation(Jam)3.22
#608Overall(Jam)3.22
#841Graphics(Jam)2.74

Comments

Mat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:42am

Pretty fun ^^ Great job!

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:32am

This was fun! The graphics were good but I think you might want to make everything the same resolution next time =P i liked the ending graphic a lot, and also the weird music :) great job!

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:45am

The game is fun. We also use the zoom mechanic!

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Fun and innovating game = cool!

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Nice game! The starting and ending screens were really cool (I actually got some goose bumps when first starting the game). The gameplay itself was solid. It would have been interesting to play with some more feedback (both sound and graphically) while consuming the various things, and with more dangerous enemies. Nevertheless, great job. This was one of my favorite entries this far.

Chickenattack says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:20am

The game was amazing at most of it's areas. The ending was very funny and had a good time burning down the skyscrapers. I did have some problems though where I couldn't tell what i could and couldn't burn down. I also did have problems with the graphics where at the end I turned into a little orange pixel and couldn't see myself. Overall the game was fun! 9/10!

drinkadriu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Great fun

RHY3756547 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Cool, I managed to set the world on fire. Reminds me of katamari, both in that you collect things smaller than you to grow and that there is little opposition. Could have used a timer or something to make the goal a little harder. Was fun while it lasted though, good job!

Tapehead says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:30am

crazy bul also funny! well done!

yuigoto says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:12am

I totally see it as some kind of pyromaniac Katamari, if you work more on this game. :P

It was fun and nice! :)

mr. a says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:15am

I'm a bit confused. All the links (Windows, OSX, and Linux) seem to be to the same file, and I'm not seeing an OSX build in there.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]