Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Coastal Beacons

by kaotiklabs - Jam Entry

Your company has been contracted to build the biggest coastal beacon in the gulf.
Will you be able to accomplish the task or will you be fired?
Make it grow and try to reach the skies!
Remember, the taller the better!

Controls: touch to make the block fall and try to match them.

P.D. Game has been rushed in just 4 hours. It lacks a lot of the intended things but couldn't spend more time during this weekend. Thought about not publishing but this is better than nothing.
Hope to have some more time next ludum.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#417Fun(Jam)3.27
#450Graphics(Jam)3.58
#615Theme(Jam)3.58
#662Mood(Jam)3.04
#697Humor(Jam)2.30
#705Overall(Jam)3.12
#836Innovation(Jam)2.64

Comments

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:29am

This reminds me of those games in the arcade when your trying to win a prize, It was interesting!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:13am

Simplistic, but it works like a charm. Quite an addictive little game. Got to floor 22, but I'll keep trying to get higher.

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Cool little game! Could be really good with some additional development & audio :)

suppi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Simple yet fun, fluid game mechanics. good job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Very cute. One warped way of making a building haha.

Nicolas Gass says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Nice Style, but you need more objects to stack. I had fun for 5 plays.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Very nice considering the super-short self inflicted timeframe :) Great work, with some polish this would make a very nice mobile game.

Valandre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:27pm

simple but very cool, hope to see a most complete version.

oz2mura says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:35am

Created in 4 hours? Niice. Got to 22 levels. Good fun. Like the graphics.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Not a bad game, a bit boring after two plays, but if you have more time in the next ludum dare, I thing that with your art style you can make something amazing

3/5

JoseArias says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:00pm

I was playing for 30 minutes. Simple but addictive.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]