Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Two buttons to save the city !

by LavWa - Jam Entry

As the chief safety inspector, it's your mission to save the city as the pressure inside the radioactive gas tank is increasing.

Enter the exact binary code by pressing 0 and 1 to be the hero !

Edit : I have add extra levels mechanics at the very end of the jam, those levels use the rest of the keypad (2,3,4.. thru 9).

Thank you very much for playing !
@LavWa

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#350Humor(Jam)2.93
#464Fun(Jam)3.21
#502Innovation(Jam)3.16
#529Audio(Jam)2.99
#677Mood(Jam)3.01
#743Overall(Jam)3.07
#767Graphics(Jam)2.95
#955Theme(Jam)2.93

Comments

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:51am

Fun and simple game. I liked the song too! :)

Indie L says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:54am

I liked a lot! Great work LavWa ;D

SethR says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:58am

This is fun. Thoughts:

1. Later levels use more than two buttons!?!
2. Restarting lets you continue where you left off, maybe a testing thing you didn't mean to leave in
3. People who've worked jobs where they had to enter credit cards #s with keypads will do great at this game (I have!)

CalmKai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:25am

FUN!

Acerio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:25am

Pretty fun game, but it shouldn't be called Two buttons to save the city.

WolfkingW says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:28am

It's a simple, solidly built game.
While it didn't innovate, it was certainly entertaining, and I felt like the system had just the right amount of punishment for each mistake.
A part of me wished an animation or an explosion would actually happen when the player ran out of time, but what you have is perfectly fine.
Congratulations on a successful Ludum Dare!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:35am

A few glitches and could use a little more art, but a really fun time passer.

alvaromartin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:58am

I am homer! fun! I didn't save the city, bummer.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:01am

Wow. Really amazing how fun this is for something so simple. Smart design with the X-ing out of numbers on misses.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02am

Nice game! Beat it too! Not sure if it's a two button game or growth though... Regardless, fun game!

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02am

DOH! Fun for a while :)

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02am

was confused because it required more than 2 buttons :/ song was pretty good though.

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:08am

got hooked fast but after a minute or so it was obvious that it was just getting harder in a predictable fashion. where is the yes/no-based-game from the third screenshot?

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13am

Haha reminded me of this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R_rF4kcqLkI. Later levels stray away from the theme though. When the 2-3:s first came up i thought I had to enter those numbers in binary form.

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:15am

Hi everyone and thanks for the feedback ! The yes/no based game didn't make it unfortunately. It was my first gameplay mechanic but was still buggy 5-6 hours before the end of the jam, so I wrote another kind of game in a rush. I could post the Yes/No based game in a post-LD publication, if I can fix the bugs :P

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57am

Great graphics and sound. A bit glitchy with restarting, I was confused when it asked me to enter 2's because I kept trying to type it in binary

Innobec says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:11am

Fun game with simple but great concept.

GetDoSed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:21am

But, it uses more than two buttons...

Kenneth Ng says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:24am

Love the visuals, but here's some criticism:

1. For a game that's themed two buttons controls, having later levels use more and more buttons kinda defeats the purpose.

2. The punishment for mistakes is kind of overwhelming. Removing letters makes it even harder, meaning it gets harder and harder the more I fail, until ultimately, I succeed through blind luck, or I lose. This can lead to frustration if the levels get fairly difficult later on.

3. Beautiful art though, love the visuals.

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:25am

Not sure how this fits the theme. And the lag between button presses is a bit irritating. However, I had fun with it and played it twice through. Haven't done that with any of the other games yet. So innovative and fun! Great work.

mr. a says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:40am

Pretty perfect length -- it ended just a few turns after my amusement faded.

I like the tableau you've put together around the input -- if it were just the console, this would be much less engaging. As it is, though, it's much more fun than it really ought to be.

As others have said, the name and description is a bit misleading (I wondered if I should try to type '2' in binary, too), and the latter two screenshots initially made me wonder if I'd somehow missed half the game. Might be good to edit the page to clarify.

Nice job pulling a new-ish game together at the last minute!

KZdev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:40am

If it was a little more forgiving of mistakes (maybe with checkpoints, or a score that decreases with mistakes instead of obscuring a number), I could see this as possibly an educational game teaching how to type on the numpad. Feels good, other than the misleading title it doesn't really fit the theme though.

gmatsura says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:48am

I like the concept, though I was confused when it asked me to enter 2. Overall the game plays well and the theme is humorous.

Crazi456 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:36am

I think I blew up the city

Garris says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:50am

Cute graphics, good sound, a little addicting. This was fun! I'm not sure how I feel about the extra numbers in later stages. When I saw the first 2, I thought the system was trying to trick me. Then I felt like that would be a pretty neat idea.

VideoDog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:36am

Wish i could just set up a Drinking Bird toy to play this one for me. :D

Great game! Typing in a series of numbers over and over again was oddly satisfying.

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:51am

Simple concept but fun to play ;)

oz2mura says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:37am

Great music to fit the mood, love the idea. Adding those extra digits completely threw me off, and made me scramble, haha.

danbolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Haha, I had a terrible tradeoff time with memorizing and pretending to remember the code I messed up.

By erasing the message, it really did force me to go more slowly. Super cool in that regard!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Fun and creative idea for a game.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:32am

funny little game about binary code :)

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:15am

Good game, pretty simple and hard at the same time.
You shouldn't punish the player when he misses by making it more difficult

andyman404 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:34am

I liked the levels with just 0 and 1. Not sure why you deviated from the 2-button theme for the later levels - it kinda defeats the game's title. I'd love to see a post-jam version that is just with the two buttons to keep it simple. Maybe the screen would start to flicker/distort/static to make it more difficult. Regardless, I had fun playing the game! Congrats for getting it done!

kaa says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:22am

Simple but nice!)

krashja says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:39am

Nice! its fun! and i like the graphics ! :D

greenscreen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:21am

Graphic style is awesome. I'm a huge fan of those out of the box styles and this one really reminds of old cartoons like beavis and butthead. Only flaw is gameplay. It's too simple. I didn't have any problem winning the game.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Nice, I was expecting it to go all the way to 0-9, but I won at 0-5. Nice concept, simple and well executed :)

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:39pm

simple but fun idea, I liked the 'simpsons-esque' nuclear power-plant in the background hinting at ever-present doom haha.

I got somewhere around level 40, and I really enjoyed the mechanic of messing up, makes the code harder to enter, very nice entry, good job!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Really fun game and challenging, I love that when you get one wrong, down the line an X appears.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:34am

wow, i was far the i missed the code... THEN I RUINED AND KILLED EVEBODY. I AM A MOSNTER.


btw, you have a whole screen to work (i mean the game screen), and you made the player look only at the side, in a computer. you're losing most of the screen. but still funny c: just a detail that i think could be better.

bradur says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Simple but solid gameplay, even if lacks a little variety.

Good job!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:22pm

GREAT MUSIC! More of a 10 button game :) But well executed. Now, just add an explosion animation in the background so we can all feel satisfied when choosing to go bad :D Good job

BuffaloPhil says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Great Fallout prequel. I like the music.

eskivor says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:42am

2 and 3 are not so binary ^^

Osaft says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Innovation ++ :D

randomhuman says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:34pm

I lol'd the first time a 2 came up :)

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:29pm

I like the binary theme and the fixed camera with the view out the window-- very cool.

Its a really interesting and smart way to do what alot of other games accomplish with jumping in an endless runner-- all the info is in front of you and the clock is counting down.

The empty red-bull-esque cans on the desk are a nice touch.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Simple game but I enjoyed it.

Krafty says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:15am

This was really fun! I don't mind the bypassing of the theme because it was a really nice way to increase the difficulty! I won but it was hard as it went on! Maybe for a later iteration of this game you could add a big explosion if the player loses =P The music was nice and made me feel like there was a sense of urgency.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:55am

interesting gameply that works - nice job

Warboys says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:25pm

It's amazing how fun this can be, really great job identifying such a simple mechanic and then making a good game out of it. I really enjoyed myself with this, and was surprised how hard it became after I initially thought it was way too easy and would never be too hard.

I suppose once you leave 0 and 1, it becomes more than two button controls though ;)

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:34pm

This is so fun

_benhumphries says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:54am

A lot of fun!. Only thing is that the further you get in, the more buttons you use, so it doesn't really stick to the theme. I'd be interested in knowing how you rendered your art in unity, it looks amazing! Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]