Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Waters: Exterme Bloom Edition

by Swedishpancaces - Compo Entry

This is a little game I made spontaneously when I saw that Ludum Dare was this weekend.

The goal of the game is to supply a deep sea colony with oxygen and fuel to keep it alive. You do this by moving left or right to light up plants to make them grow.

This would be more obvious if I had some more time to polish things up (and add the colony graphics). A tutorial would help too...

Note:
Don't play the game full screen because the performance is really bad.

Mac:
I have tested the Mac version so it should be working.
Linux:
I have not tested the Linux build it could be broken!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#289Graphics3.47
#692Theme3.44
#752Innovation2.65
#805Overall2.81
#903Fun2.31
#1922Coolness33%

Comments

shanton says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:28pm

The overall feel of the game is good, but it gets a bit boring after not too long

kristoverek says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:55am

the linux build, after installing the missing libraries, stops immediately after starting, without any console output, sorry, no way to rate ]:/

Komradus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:18am

A very pretty game. Would be great to see a more polished version.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:38pm

@kristoverek Sorry to hear, can't really do anything about it though... :(

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:03am

Really nice feel.

Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:50am

Was king of confused at the end (well, I think it was the end-- all the colonists died eventually, but it kept on going afterward). Could use some failure notification if you let the colonists die/ a maybe a leaderboard (if you end up polishing it more).

Teekeks says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Love the graphics!

StaNov says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:23pm

I'm not sure what to do there. The plants dissapear after a while, the oxygen and fuel levels are still decreasing... The graphics are nice.

Next time try to make it playable first, then make graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]