Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dance You Fools!

by Beefsports - Jam Entry

​This was created in a weekend (mostly just all day Sunday) by me for Ludum Dare 34 Jam using the themes Growing and Two Button Controls. Art and music are from around the place but mostly opengame and kenney. Programming, design etc all done by me.
There isn't much to this game because I ran out of time (could have added some more variation in game modes) but I think the game itself is a very simple concept so there's not much more you can do.
This is my first individual game jam after messing around with unity for a while and good to finally get something it. It's not much, but it's at least finished which is better than I normally do.
Space to start the game, escape on first screen to exit the program if you've downloaded it (or a cheeky Alt-F4 will do it anytime). The aim is to alternate the key press shown under your player with the keys being generate randomly each time. If you select 2 on the player select screen players 1 and 2 will be human controlled. Need to press the key on the left first then alternate from there (will see your characters leg go down on press if correct key).
Made in Unity 5.0.0f4 so links all go to http://miserablepawngames.itch.io/dance-you-fools where you can play it in the webplayer or download it. I'm on windows 7 and have no issues, did not test on other computers or OS's.
[Attributions]
All Balloon sprites taken from http://opengameart.org/content/balloons-set-01 from Author GameArtForge​

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#152Fun(Jam)3.67
#229Humor(Jam)3.25
#273Theme(Jam)3.95
#370Mood(Jam)3.39
#475Overall(Jam)3.36
#476Innovation(Jam)3.20
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

rzuf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Haha, it was hilarious once i got wat is going on. Tried to play it several times but never menaged to beat the computer. :D
Good job!

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:16am

Pro:
+ Cool fun concept
+ Single and multiplayer, should be fun at parties
Con:
- Already pointed out, but very simple... Maybe a Wario Ware like with only two button mini-games?
Obs:
o I had to play alone...

Great job!

sbot1101 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:31am

Good effort. I can imagine it'd be fun with 4 people crowded around a single keyboard jostling for the best position. I played solo and just got strange looks from my wife. A+.

Crazi456 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:21am

Silly little game, loved it!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:36am

A rather simple game. Is it just me, or is the timer too long? Fingers were burning after one round...

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:41am

haha this was fun! reminded me to the simpsons arcade baloon stage. My fingers hurt

Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:36am

Reminds me exactly of the Simpsons arcade game mini game in between levels but instead of pumping the balloon you are dancing. The idea of the keys changing every time could be fun with 4 players fumbling around but it is lost when playing single player.

hyperscope says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:28am

I absolutely love the local multiplayer aspect of this game especially your implementation of it! The randomness of the keys definitely adds to the fun of the game.

Dreyan says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:58am

Seems like it could be fun with multiple people, although sometimes the length of the round felt a bit long.

Dec 30, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Played this two player with my boyfriend. The randomness of the key selection was great as we had to muscle our favoured positions on the keyboard.

We both agreed that 30 seconds was too long, and even after the desk shaking so much that you'd think there was an earthquake... the ai won ¬______¬

Super fun!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]