Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Plant Simulator: Chemical Warfare

by DracoLizardStudios - Compo Entry

Plant Simulator: Chemical Warfare

Inspired by the Wild Coyote Tobacco Plant and its chemical weapons

Play as a plant and defend your self from your enemy with chemical defenses that all exist in real life!

---

Build by Zack Bond in 48 hours for Ludum Dare 34 Compo

---

Tools:
Unity 5.2.0
Photoshop
Visual Studio
TwistedWave Online
WordPad
Font: Surfing Capital

---

Directions:

NOTE: There is a How to Play scene in-game

T: Spawns in a Trichome that when eaten attracts predators (Tricomes last 10 seconds when spawned)
L: Pumps toxins into a leaf that can kill smaller enemy's (Caterpillars can eat toxic leaves without being hurt)
Trichome[Mass Action]: Spawns extra Trichomes
SOS: Attracts a horde of predators (Only use when a enemy leaves the war zone)

---

Tip:
Use your resources wisely defenses only regenerate after you a stage is complete or is failed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#170Graphics3.80
#341Mood3.17
#413Innovation3.25
#602Overall3.10
#625Theme3.55
#840Fun2.55
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

Somnium says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Interesting concept, and very nice graphics!

It was a bit hard to see the effect of the poison leaves, which made the timing a bit tricky.

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:17pm

I like the atmosphere and graphics. Wasn't a successful gardener, but enjoyed my time playing.

Jynshi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:17pm

The graphics are really nice!

Milo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:18pm

This was an interesting concept, though it took a bit of trying before I figured out precisely what things did, even after reading the instructions. I guess the lack of immediate feedback from any action makes learning somewhat difficult.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Thanks for the feedback! I have added more descriptive controls in the description.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Surprising amount of depth to this game. Sort of like an rts/tower defense hybrid. Good job!

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Nice looking game. It was pretty hard to tell the cause and effect of the different actions, so it felt a little trial and error. The atmosphere and sound effects are nice.

uvwar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:39pm

I won but I had no idea what was happening, I never saw the beetles or caterpillars crawling onto the stalks (are they supposed to?)

zguerrero says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Cool concept! Their could be more feebacks to unterstand what exactly is going on, apart from that, it is great!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:23pm

I'm planing on finishing the stuff i could not get done in the 48 hours, when i do that it will be uploaded here for all to play: http://dracolizardstudios.com/

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:29pm

@uvwar they only climb up the main stalk stem, i did not have time to add complex AI were they will climb over the smaller stems.

Zadow says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:33am

Fantastic mood and graphical appearance~ Was fun to play, kind of like a plant tower defence, but I think it was a little unclear how to defend yourself properly. Good work, would totally play a polished plant tower defence game!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24am

Cool concept. Good execution

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:26am

Very cool, graphics are pretty cool, and the gameplay seems to works well! :)

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:54am

I like the idea, nice graphics! Sort of like a vertical tower defense game. It's a bit confusing and it would be cool to have music and sound effects but good nonetheless! :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:11am

Nice idea with the real plant defences but I felt a little lost sometimes for what to do, graphics are nice though.

rnlf says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:37pm

I couldn't play the game (64 bit Linux) without installing a full multilib environment (would rather not do it).

If you upload a 64 bit Linux build and drop me a link on twitter, I'll give it a second try!

Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Lovely graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/iU4q-3Z4nkI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]