Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

GLYPH

by JaCkJoKeZ - Compo Entry

Controls:
WASD for movement
Left Click to use a spell
"R" to restart
and Esc to exit the game.

Objective: Kill enemies to level up, grow stronger, and survive until the counter gets to zero!

First Ludum Dare, Whoohoo! I used the theme "Growing" as in "Growing more powerful", but I feel like I made my scope too broad and should have narrowed down a bit and focused on an easier genre. Even a small, fast-paced RPG is difficult and time-consuming to make without any code-base.

For those of you wondering, here are the programs I used;
Engine/Language: GM:Studio/GML,
Art: ASEPRITE, Cosmigo Pro Motion, in-engine editor,
Sound: Bfxr

Changelog:
-Fixed bug where game would crash due to the player leveling up while dead.
-Updated link to be a standalone executable and not an installer
-3:59 A.M. 12/14/2015 - Various object placement fixes that caused conflicts with movement causing, stutters and other game breaking bugs. Also fixed a variable conflict that was causing shadows to render backwards and non_transparent.
-6:22 P.M. 12/14/2015 Fixed bug where player wouldn't collide with enemy hit box. Also fixed starting spell not scaling with damage stat. Fixed bug where player could not be damaged. Added a win condition so that game can be played and actually WON. Also, some small balancing issues have been addressed.
-5:33 A.M. 12/18/2015 Fixed bug where game would cause StackOVerflow. Required a re-upload and re-link to Google Drive

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#289Graphics3.47
#444Mood3.00
#694Fun2.84
#767Overall2.89
#795Innovation2.56
#933Theme2.47
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

rzuf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:50am

It's very easy to get stuck between enemies at the beginning. I couldn't die (hitpoints were stuck at 80), as well as the spawner at the bottom left part of the screen. I liked the feeling of becoming extremely powerful very quickly. :D
Wizard sprite is pretty awesome.
Congrats on your first entry!
Oh, and I made an RPG as well, so I know how hard it is. But it's not impossible! Cheers!

JaCkJoKeZ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Thanks! I tried out your game and I liked your idea as well and the way you implemented the RPG elements! And thanks for pointing out those bugs. I crushed some bugs today, so hopefully that's all fixed now :D

Nizan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:10am

I found it really hard to kill your first enemy, at first I thought the enemies were bugged and not dying. Not sure where the spawners are either? Graphics not loading?

peyj says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:11am

It's not working on my win10 notebook. That's a problem with GM-Studios fullscreen-mode, though. I've encountered it before, you can fix it by making it "fake fullscreen": enable borderless window and call window_set_size(display_get_width(), display_get_height()) on game start.

timeshapers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:31am

attacking enemies seems pointless, running away in circles is the dominant strategy.

JaCkJoKeZ says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:40am

@Nizan oh! sorry about that, I forgot to update the objective after I did some bug fixes ha ha my bad. I spent so long on the systems I didn't have time to implement a system where you could actually *WIN so I added the "spawner" as a somewhat placeholder win condition. I didn't want to "add" anything per se, so I just added a condition where it would go to the next room if you survived a set amount of seconds. That's why it says in the top left now "Quest: Survive" (;w;) lol. As for the enemies, they ARE a bit difficult early in the game because it's a balancing issue. If they're too easy in the beginning you'll just snowball and wreck everything's face and challenge goes *POOF* haha. The delay on spells is completely intentional as well, if you notice some spells cast a lot faster than others :D

@peyj thanks for the tip! I didn't know that before, I just added it in and hopefully it'll run now!

JaCkJoKeZ says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:41am

@timeshapers, until they catch up to you ;)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Really challenging game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/XuTLfsOkf7k

candlesan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:50am

Could not run. Glyph just started spawning additional copies of Glyph. I opened up task manager and there were hundreds of copies of Glyph.exe running with more being created every second. Had to reboot my machine.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:35am

good game for first time ludum dare, nice pixelart on the enemies

YinYin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:59am

same problem as candlesan

JaCkJoKeZ says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:42pm

@candlesan & @ YinYin, can I have your specs? What's your window resolution, Windows version?

Skruffye says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:41am

Same problem as candlesan. Game copies itself until it crashes the system (in my case it bluescreened).
Running Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium edition on an Intel i7-3740QM processor and an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 675MX.
I'll come back to this game in a few days to give you time to fix the problem. :)

JaCkJoKeZ says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:35am

@Skruffye thanks for the specs! It took me a couple of hours, and I had to run the game in a virtual box, but so far it's up and running again! Thanks for the information and feedback you guys, it's really helpful in improving my game :D

Hackbug says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:39pm

I love the graphics and the gameplay ;)

JaCkJoKeZ says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:26am

@Hackbug thanks!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:11pm

The window opened about 200px down and 50px to the left of my screen origin, but I could still play it. No real link to the theme I can discern and if you die the timer continues and then when it runs out tells me I survived :)
The spell takes very long to cast and does little damage, am I doing something wrong?

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:53am

The game launched in a borderless window partially off of my monitor, so I couldn't see nearly a third of the game. It also didn't seem to be very responsive to controls. :/

JaCkJoKeZ says ...
Jan 8, 2016 @ 8:04am

I apologize for the bugs, I completely revamped the game and was forced to upload a Post-Ludum-Dare version on GameJolt which is now linked to the Windows link. For my first Ludum Dare, I gotta say I was overly ambitious, but at least now the build is stable after about a month. Sorry for the delay, but you guys can follow development on the site. Thanks so much for trying it out and your contribution!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]