Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Space Eater

by kevin_pauly - Jam Entry

Spin your way through several increasingly hostile parts of space and eat all the happy little asteroids you can. Shoot or avoid the bad asteroids, and you'll help the friendly planet grow bigger than ever!

Made by
Sahil Tandon
Chris Benoit
Tyler Summers
Kevin Pauly
Greg Kozma

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#4Theme(Jam)4.68
#11Fun(Jam)4.23
#27Humor(Jam)4.14
#27Audio(Jam)4.19
#41Overall(Jam)4.06
#42Graphics(Jam)4.55
#55Mood(Jam)4.07
#86Innovation(Jam)3.84

Comments

jewagenaar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:09am

OMG! So much <3

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:10am

Awesome game! Used both themes really well! I quit after the mango belt because nothing was really changing. Only complaint is that it's a little hard to tell where the mouth hitbox is and the spin speed can be a little hard to control.

benjaml says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:17am

The best LD game I've played from now, just SO KAWAI !! :3

Rnd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38am

cute games.. cute graphic... too much cuteness in this game

antonuklein says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:42am

Easily one of the best games I've played from this jam.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:42am

This was great. Really like how you used both themes.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:58am

Yes! Yes! Yes! This is so awesome, my favourite game of the jam so far

alvaromartin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:12am

I loved this game! Cute! 5

Valandre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Good entry! very neat & cute!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Really fun game and nice use of both themes.

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Very nice game~Really simple but really fun. The art and the juiciness is also very good

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Love this game! It's so cute! The music was adorable, and the controls worked very nicely. The only thing I might add is different enemy types for the different levels. The level names seemed like they could have dictated what the enemies could have looked like, such as lollipops and lemon drops. Overall, this game was fun and looked great. Awesome job!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Pretty and so cute game about littel planet =) Game play is simple and adcitive. Theme implemented very and very clever! Nice work, dude!

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Couldn't get pass the 3rd level but this is a fun game (5 stars for the use of the themes too) and that tiny planet is supercute !

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:59am

very cute - like the chomping - great job very polished entry

mxjones says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Really awesome, the graphics are cute and it has both themes! Good job

h.attila says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Liked it. Very cute game! :) The sounds design and the music are really well done. Also, it's a great interpretation of both themes.

StaNov says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Loved the graphics, audio, animations... Everything :) Except for the unclear mouth direction. It could be more visible where would I shoot an asteroid. Great work, so consistent!!!

camlang says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Wow, SUCH KAWAII :3 This is an awesome entry, good job!

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:27pm

Loved the graphics and audio! Fantastic! Cool game, and nice originality. Well done! c:

Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:42am

So cute! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/R1E0Ch1WcpU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]