Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

NnB: Nuts n' Bolts

by squigglez - Jam Entry

You are a rogue robot fighting against the robot empire. This was my first Ludum Dare. Made with Gamemaker: Studio.

Trailer:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Br7f8ASkZ0Q

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#532Fun(Jam)3.14
#600Theme(Jam)3.59
#603Innovation(Jam)3.00
#682Overall(Jam)3.14
#790Mood(Jam)2.80

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Neat concept, growing on the bolts your enemies drop. Nicely made! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/HyS0oGo3sGY

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Great stuff! love the audio and feels fun to play. Can't ask for much more¬!

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Good Job, This was an excellent use of both themes

RoynLimb says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Wow, I did not expect this to get so hard. Even if you don't move and just keep shooting you get overrun fast. Great job.

fafastudio says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Nice audio, nice take on the theme.
Surprisingly hard.
Nice game =)

Null DIES says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Windows Defender says the exe is a "Trojan:Win32/Spursint.A" O_o
Anybody else got that?

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:31am

Good job, I liked the collection of the bolts, wish the robots spawned at random locations not just set ones. Nicely done.

hyperscope says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:32am

Would have been nice to see more variety in the spawner. I rather enjoyed how opposed to getting your score based on kills it was based on growth. Nice use of the theme and simply as a game mechanic. More variety in the background would have been a nice bonus.

GGraca says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Great concept! Spawn and IA could be explored to make it even better

phi says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Nice, simple concept, good difficulty balance. I liked the boss fight, too.
Maybe next time, could you include the game executable in the download? Most people don't like installing things, especially when they're only going to use it once.

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Clever agar.io concept, but with ranged weapons. Nice job!

squigglez says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:04am

@phi thanks for feedback. sorry i did not have exe. I was not aware that i could export like that in game maker studio. will have that next time

Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Great idea! Spawn points were really predictable, and we found that you could camp one side of the map, let the robots build up on the other side (unmoving) then fire at them every once in a while for massive free health boosts. :)

Alphish says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Pretty cool concept, though grows a bit stale after a while (and I don't think that's the sort of growing you wanted to include in the game). It could benefit from larger variety of enemies, maybe larger variety of what the main character can do or something? With shooting and movement using the same cursor the movement becomes unneeded after a while, since you're better off taking down the enemies anyway, and moving towards them just makes you even easier target. Also, the enemies could spawn around the entire game area instead of 8 predefined points. ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]