Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growing Debts

by WakeOfLuna - Compo Entry

Growing Debts is about a farmer (you, the player) tending to his/her farm and selling the produce. Luckily, you are blessed with a happy family that keeps spending your money. Your debts are growing! You must grow the grain on your farm and sell the milk from your cows to generate an income.
You lose the game when your bills are larger than your wallet. There is no win condition per se, but you can score a High Score.

...the link to the theme "Growing" is pretty lame. But I tried, and for my first time that's good enough for me :)

- Game is written in C++ using the framework Qt
- You need CMake and Qt >= 5.4 to compile/run this game.
- I have no skills at sound or music so the game is completely silent.
- Windows port will follow later. Unfortunately I cannot provide for Mac OS..

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#240Humor2.90
#377Overall3.36
#498Innovation3.13
#536Fun3.08
#679Graphics2.72
#692Theme3.44
#719Mood2.59

Comments

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Cool game! The graphics were a bit rough though.

Coomzy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Interesting game, I was gutted that I couldn't pick up the cows!

Cyranh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Got to day 7. Final score 1810. Pretty funny that my neighbour stole my wife though.

Vertigon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Was unable to run the Windows standalone. :-( Will try again later.

wannadie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Cows are the best! Hint: keep the money box near them.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Couldn't sell the grain for some reason, maybe it was a glitch.

Interface says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:30pm

The family sure takes a lot of upkeep. Can't keep the money in their pockets :-) Good game. The cows are a life saver!

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:19am

Thumbs up for not using Unity!

Shovix says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:34pm

cool idea.

muriel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Good Job Man!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:45pm

I could not start the game, just get a console flash (windows)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]