Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Valk Unit Lawyer

by oz2mura - Jam Entry

Valk Unit Lawyer (our first jam game!)

Story : A reality TV show growing it's popularity by delivering high-speed verdicts.

How to Play : You use the mouse to click on buttons on the screen. You can drag and drop the black chat boxes. Tip: on discovering who's guilty or innocent = murder. (Originally it was contradictions)

Credits : Game Maker Studio. Sine Glitch's music, design/code by @oz2mura and art/concept by @pumpkinnette.



notes : there's over 605 lines of dialogue. goals were to make it subtle and surprising who is guilty or not. you can win the game, it's a nice little piece of art work. and I hope you enjoy!

post-jam plans: no repeats, skip-able/faster judgements, winning streak bonus/ underdog bonus, more lines/souls, animated portraits. thanks everyone for the feedback!

update : added a version 2! basically faster verdict time and balances fixed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#66Humor(Jam)3.84
#153Graphics(Jam)4.13
#168Overall(Jam)3.73
#175Fun(Jam)3.62
#205Innovation(Jam)3.58
#284Theme(Jam)3.93
#320Mood(Jam)3.46

Comments

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52am

Awesome game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:32am

Neat game! Would be nice to be able to skip the scenes in between each verdict. Nice job though.

oz2mura says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:57am

@UntitledQ@Charging Llama Thanks a lot!

And yeah I'll definitely keep that in mind in a post-jam version, also going to play around with the overall pacing more.

SineGlitch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:49pm

I like it a lot! Great writing and art work! Unique game play very original!

oz2mura says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:34am

@SineGlitch Great music too! Thanks for making it availible. :D

rzuf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Art work is amazing and the music fits perfectly. :D The judgement cutscene could be a tad shorter. As awesome as it is, it gets old after a while. Otherwise, solid entry, very enjoyable. :D

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Really liked the gameplay but the pacing is indeed a bit off. To win the game a lot of the lines repeated - perhaps you could use some semi-randomness or lower the amount of times I need to correctly answer to win. Also, while the cutscene is awesome, I'd often want to skip it to get to the next verdict.
Loved the game!

Eldraev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Really fun game. These fast yes/no decision games really have something about them. The artwork is great and I like the main character design. It got a bit repetitive after a while but had a fair amount of people to judge (I could sometimes play for about 10 minutes in a run without getting noticeable duplicates). The mechanics are fun and force you to think quick which was also supported by the catchy chiptune bgm. I only found the judging scenes to be a bit long since you see them over and over again. Overall a great game.

Pusty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Great game! The judging really felt as if I had a choice and the answer was determinable (and not like in other games random). Had fun playing it! Great job overall

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:29am

Most funny game I played so far! I really enjoyed this one. If you want more people to play the game, I highly recommend you replace the installer with just your game packed in a zip file.

oz2mura says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:35am

@Jishenaz Thanks! Really glad you enjoyed it.

Installer is completely gone now, replaced with single executable run-time, and game packed in zip file. Thanks for the recommendation.

Logicon says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:00am

Very unique game. I wish I could have skipped the verdict animation near the end of the game.

skripteriant says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:25am

really fun game, funny too. Though I found myself only skimming the word bubbles because I didn't want to run out of time, but thats just how time based games are. the graphics were great and the music was fitting. Great game!

Soka says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:41pm

The graphics are so sweet I got diabetes, man I would love to pixelart/draw like that, the selection squence and music are so rad too. Also the humor is just right.
Overall its a game I would play on mobile while in the bus, really original!

Soka says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:45pm

And I never play games on the bus! Sorry for the double post, had to attend a veredict ;o)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Good entry with an interesting approach of the theme. Your game reminds me a little bet another - Please paper. We need to do a choice. Nice job though ++

adaFish says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:03pm

The graphics are great and the inner monologues of the people on trial are hilarious. I only had one person turn up innocent XD. I think you could stand to ramp up the tension a little bit by cutting back on the amount of time to give the verdict, but overall this was great.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:09am

Pretty interesting concept. I like the anime style cutscenes (as well as the subtle references to certain anime cliches) and the twitter-like feed at the bottom was quite funny at times.

herniewise says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:48am

Liked it a lot, turn it into a full game!

Skruffye says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:50am

Not sure I understood the logic behind who was guilty and who wasn't. Some folk seemed to be considered guilty just because they were acting defensively.
Apart from that, the actual concept was fantastic and the art was very nice. Although it might just have been me missing the point, I would be interested to see it further developed with a clearer direction in the guilty/not guilty system. :)

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:14am

@Skruffye Just read through the list of culprits, I saw what you mean with 4 out of 71 culprits, they're too vague that they actually committed a crime or confessed. Thanks for bringing this up, and going to make sure to make it more clear in the post-jam version.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:22am

So good. Love the great anime-style art! I cracked up at many of the dialogs and dug that the different defendants had their own personalities. I made it to the end, and yes, the ending art was worth it ;) Nice job, guys!

Ampera says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:52pm

The game I have rated the highest so far. This is awesome. I am a fan of Pheonix Wright. You should contact capcom and give them this as a mobile game. Or just publish it yourself. Maybe add some more variety, and some complexity, but overall it's one of the most fun games I have played.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Haha that was fun! Great entry, the twitter feed was a nice touch! I kept playing until it crashed. I played version 1 though so maybe you've got some bugs fixed already but here's the error message I got.
-------------------------------------------------
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Create Event
for object obj_face:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Get -7.bub(100039, -2147483648)
at gml_Object_obj_face_Create_0
----------------------------------------------------

oz2mura says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:44am

@silkworm_sweatshop Thanks for reporting this-- seems like one of the 71 defendants just wants to crash the game, as soon as I find it gonna punch it in the face.

Also THANK YOU EVERYONE for the wonderful comments! It has definitely lifted our spirits up, and fortifies our want to proceed with game developings. :D

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:17am

Very nice and funny game, loved the 8-bit music, set a good mood. Also the dialogues were very funny :D

One tip: Maybe try the make sure it won't repeat too much.

The game seemed to also bug out when my timer ran out.

spotco says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:32am

>nice little piece of art work
dunno about that

eerongal says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Neat little game. I love the graphics and sound, gets a bit repetitive, though.

Muel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:14pm

This game host is so bad that I should host this thing...

...oh wait, I AM the host! =O

Jwatt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Ohgod this game. I kept playing because I wanted to see all the dialogue. Also all these faces are killing me.

Is anime real??

Ithildin says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Great take on the theme, with cool graphics and very suiting music. My only issues are the inability to skip the verdict scenes, and that sometimes it's a bit too subtle to get the hints.

Congratulations!

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:45pm

They all seemed so guilty, yet I was right only once..

The game is simple but, for some reason, quite fun. At least for a while. I like the graphics, and the Ace Attorney-ness of the game.

WolfkingW says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:59am

I really enjoyed playing your game! The dialogue's humor was spot-on, and each verdict required much deliberation. The art style and overall mood you chose for the game really matched it well. My only criticism is that the time between choosing your verdict and receiving the actual verdict seemed a little bit too lengthy.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:25pm

I really liked this game, great audio and graphics also the humor was spot on for me! Awesome stuff overall!

Krafty says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:02am

This game was pretty good, but a little bit repetitive. I liked it a lot though! Great music and graphics :)

Jan 9, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Neat little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/yY4Ylj7ccuc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]