Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Journey for the light

by rosden shadow - Compo Entry

Journey for the light is a difficult game in which you collect light and dodge enemies to be able to become a beautiful flower.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#272Theme3.97
#385Innovation3.31
#412Fun3.24
#454Audio2.68
#463Overall3.25
#748Graphics2.57

Comments

behzad_robot says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:21am

Though the art is awful ,The game's gameplay idea is really smart( i dunno y would a flower shoot missiles?!) and u've achieved theme in it very well! But :
this is way tooo hard .. i couldnt go any further than 11 lights left to collect O_o , I wish u'd somehow balance the game... i dunno less enemies or better fire rate or sth ?

Mixer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:17am

I actually really enjoyed enjoyed this entry, the best I could do was around 7-8 to go. It was a bit random with the missiles, but I thought it was fun. Nice work, and call vine :) ps- the art is not that bad.

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:29am

Difficult but fun! It's like a snake shooter. Well done!

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:34am

Could use a soundtrack, other than that, very fun. Hard to complete though.

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:37am

Could use a soundtrack, other than that, very fun. Hard to complete though.

Player needs more dakka. http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/MoreDakka

TsFreddie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:09am

It is pretty fun, and the art is not bad. really. (although the game over screen hurts my eyes.)

fishbrain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:11am

Cool!, I enjoyed that. Nice challenging little game idea. A sound track would add some polish.

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:09am

Clever game, great aesthetic, awesome sprites. Fairly challenging, but not in a detrimental way. Overall extremely solid entry, congrats!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:18am

awesome :) I like the idea, and the way you made the tail with all of it's leaves and things. it may made a little more sense had you animated the bud at the end to open when you fired and had it pivot to face the direction you were firing, however the game was still really fun ??

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:02am

Is it possible to get a web build or a mac build ?

I can't play it :|

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:05am

@mukult no sorry

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:08am

Nice take on the theme. Game just progress a bit slow though.

MCRewind says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:28am

Pretty fun but graphics are :/

madcoil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:40am

Pretty cool! It was maybe a bit too easy and it's a shame there is no music, but I like the take on the themes.

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:21am

I wish the enemies would have a bigger hitbox.

Check out Digicross, playable in solo/multi/coop :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

ThaRemo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:41am

Pretty fun game! It could use some music though, but the mechanics are quite nice.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Interesting game. Lots of things going on in one which is cool. I think it'd look better if the clouds were a part of the background instead of in the foreground (or, like if some were in the background and some in the foreground). Good job!

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Theme is 5/5! And idea is good, whit some improvments in balancing the game it could be great.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Windows won't let me open the file. :(

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:45pm

This was quite fun, i didn't manage to collect all the light thingies but did alright. Once you get the hang of it it plays actually really nicely (letting your plant move automatically while aiming and shooting helps a lot).

Could question if mouse controls count as "two button controls" cause you use the movement of it as well, but i think as long as it matches one of the themes it's fine.

davesoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Nice work! Great fun, I spent 10 mins hovering between 2-left and 1-left and had to give up :D

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:15am

The art and sound weren't the best, but despite this, I really enjoyed the gameplay. It's addicting! I like how you included different types of enemies; it allowed me to develop strategies for beating the game.

victorfisac says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:58am

Really cool, it's so fun! Good work :D

Tselmek says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Really nice game, the controls feel smooth and the challenge is there. I just find that having the whole vine as hitbox is a little harsh. Great entry.

IAmSpencer says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:56am

Simple idea, simple mechanics, and simple graphics, but actually a surprisingly fun game!

my only suggestion, would be to make the death / restart a bit faster, because this seems like the type of game where you'll die a lot [or maybe I'm just bad haha], and the less the player has to wait after dying, the more they'll want to play [for instance: Super MeatBoy].

Seriously though, I;m surprised how much fun this was, something about the simple to use controls, and general simple premise, makes this a really fun casual game, excellent work! :)

Mar 28, 2016 @ 3:06am

well made game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/MR4ln4T3mFk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]