Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rise of the Weeds

by SeaLeft Studios - Jam Entry

They have been downtrodden.
They have been pulled from their homes.
Now they're here for revenge.
Rise of the Weeds!

The weeds of the world have mutated and are growing to ginormous proportions. They seek to destroy humanity one building at a time.
As part of the Weed Aerial Brigade YOU must hold off the weeds long enough to evacuate the cities. But be careful, your chopper is armed with only a limited amount of the critical weed killer need to stave off this threat such as humanity has never seen.
Good luck, pilot!

Controls:
Press S to switch directions.
Press SPACE to drop weed killer.

Credits:
Everything made by Richard Hoover (except the music, not one musical bone in my body)
Flight of the Bumblebee composed by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov performed by the US Army Band courtesy of Musopen and the Creative Commons

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#143Theme(Jam)4.12
#369Overall(Jam)3.47
#370Mood(Jam)3.39
#383Innovation(Jam)3.32
#412Graphics(Jam)3.64
#418Audio(Jam)3.19
#522Fun(Jam)3.15

Comments

Elenesski says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:53am

Loved the feel of this game. Simple idea. Great use of both themes. Loved the music ... seemed very suited. Kind of reminded me of my lawn this year. laughs. At level 5 it was impossible keep all the buildings from not being engulfed by the encroaching weeds.

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Cool take on the dual theme. Stressful in a fun way trying to balance resources and maximizing score!

hoqjed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Great art. Those weeds frickin stresed me out lookin so gross.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Great little game, having to manage how much ammo you had was fun! Awesome art as well!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:45am

Nice use of both themes. I see a number of ways this could be extended for a casual mobile game. Very cool.

broknecho says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:46am

Gameplay was great. Audio was awesome. Art was pixely wicked. Nice entry! Great job!

Jerre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Art is very nice, conecpt is also good, but it got a bit repetitive after a while, didn't feel I had a lot of choices to make anymore, but nicely done!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Nice entry I did find that I could get a rhythm of just moving back and forth to beat them but yeah nice good looking entry.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:26pm

I've liked the graphics that you made, pretty effective. A really nice work for a one-man game.

argosenpaikun says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:28am

Simple and nice concept for both themes. Really love it.

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Seemed like simple game in the start, but gets scary and exciting very quickly

Gordy says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Nice man ! ;)

kardfogu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:54am

Totally felt like playing an old arcade based on a '60s movie. Awesome concept. Also nice play on both themes at the same time!
Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]