Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

More Than 2 Defense

by Micah Goodhue - Jam Entry

Edit: Reuploaded the game because it was too unbalanced. Turned down the enemy spawn rates, and re did some spawning calculations.

More Than 2 Defense is a game where you are a company that is being attacked by other companies because your 2 button controllers are selling very well. They want their money, so they have to eliminate you! Grow you company to produce more controllers for weapons, and more money to buy upgrades. Starring companies such as, Pwny, Physcosoft, and Fernanado. Also, when you hear a roar, don't crap your pants.

Controls: Enter/return to place salesman, up arrow to move spawn position of salesman, click on items in the shop to see their description, name, and icon.

There's also an easter egg when you buy the nuke, see if you can figure it out; it's very simple to do.

And I know you'll want to buy everything...so press "tab" for the console to open, and then type "money", without quotes. A box should pop up, click in the center of it and type any number you want, then press enter. This will give you money, depending on your number you put.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness24%

Comments

Soka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:30am

It crashed on me, but it was pretty fun while it lasted :D

Micah Goodhue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:34am

Thanks for the feedback. At what point did it crash?

Ampera says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:47am

potentially one of the most fun games I have played in the LD, but only issue is that it's way unbalanced. I can't defeat the waves.

Trash Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:49am

So, I was really hoping to get to more controller jokes, but I ran into a few game-breaking bugs that, unfortunately, impeded my progress to said jokes

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00am

Was a bit strange, and salesmen seamed a bit slow. Nice art work. Good job.

Micah Goodhue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:10am

Thanks everyone, I'm sorry for the bugs, I didn't notice them during my testing. In order to get past waves you have to place your men strategically, buy a factory at the start and then once the wave starts, wait to buy and place one of your salesmen. I'm also sorry for the unbalance-ness. If I continue this I will hopefully make the game a bit more balanced.

ZONC says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:11am

Really nice game, but it is very hard :D

Micah Goodhue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:28am

Hey guys, I just downloaded it on my laptop and was bug hunting, and realized it is really un balanced. I think the spawn rate is too high, once I update it I will link the download in the post. Thanks.

Micah Goodhue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:25am

Alright, just reuploaded the download. Change some things such as:

Enemies now have a bit more health.
Less spawn rates. It now takes the enemy spawn amount and multiplies it by the current difficulty(adds up from 1 every wave) then adds the enemy spawn gain, then divides all that by 2.
Made the timer in between waves longer, that way until the later rounds you won't have several rounds overlapping each other. I changed this because it was way too difficult in the beginning when 1 wave spawned 20 seconds after another.

kostak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Hmm, I have a problem with management.
Step to reproduce:
launch round
I have 150 money
Click on the dollar sign
I opt for the first plant of 150 money mouse click
Description appears on the right, but the button to confirm no.
Click the X in the corner (more in fact nowhere to press)
In the game press everything, including Enter, backspace and up.
Nothing happens.
I can not understand how your game to purchase a building and hire people.

Micah Goodhue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:09pm

You have to click the "buy" button. Clicking on the icon itself just shows you what it does. You are only supposed to use the up arrow and enter once you've bought a salesman, otherwise you don't use it.

luysse_l says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:39pm

wow nice game, very nice work

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]