Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow In VR

by hpearson2 - Jam Entry

Submission for the ludum Dare theme "Growing"

Grow In VR is a game where you "grow" in VR. Grow plants with water in VR or water your brain with plant knowledge. This game has two modes: Game + Educational. (Each game-mode can be played in VR using google cardboard)



Video of gameplay can be seen at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sC02hTj8h5M


Get the app here: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.hpearsonco.GrowInVR

Print the QRcodes from here:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/y7s2q8dgengbzva/AACwInGxVtWkV8najfxMP_JTa?dl=0


The goal of the game mode is to keep the plants alive for as long as you can. Plants begin to decay when they are not watered. Only one plant can be watered at a time so a player must rush from plant to plant. Users are scored on how long they managed to keep them alive.

Educational game mode is a more relaxing. Water plants that do not decay and slowly watch them grow before you. When a plant is first watered a brief description or facts about the plant will be read to you.


How to play:
1) print pdf included
2) cut one the lines to separate the qr-codes
3) Run "Grow In VR" app
4) when game begins point phone camera / webcam at qr-codes


Specs and tools making the game:
Made with unity 5.2.2f1 (32 bit) (Has to be this version for vuforia)
Vuforia (v5.0.6)
Used 1 asset from asset store (free) (Terrain Assets) (3d models for the trees) [This is why it is in game jam not compo]
Photoshop cs2 (it is free)
Music was made with http://onlinesequencer.net/

*vuforia cannot export to computer but can be compiled and ran with webcam
*It's my first time competing in ludum dare, had a blast wished I could have entered compo but I can't 3d model :(
*Submitted to game jam because one asset from asset store was used (terrain asset). I didn't know unity could make trees :(



12/19/2015: After Ludum Dare I decided to continue working. Here is a video of my latest work: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TZdsaujxS1s Thank you everyone I am in awe of how awesome this community is and I am thrilled for the next event!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Innovation(Jam)4.47
Coolness69%
#518Mood(Jam)3.21
#552Theme(Jam)3.63
#592Humor(Jam)2.53
#620Overall(Jam)3.21
#676Audio(Jam)2.39
#817Fun(Jam)2.76

Comments

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Very cool idea! Nice way to incorporate the theme with VR (though technically this is considered AR, Augmented Reality)

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:01pm

5/5 innovation

(ps. it's AR)

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:24pm

As stated in the above comments this is Augmented Reality and not Virtual Reality. I chose to call it Virtual Reality to make it much easier to explain to family and friends without them seeing the game in person.

eerongal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:34am

Definitely an interesting take on the theme. Don't think i've ever seen an AR ludum dare game! nice work!

mukult says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:57am

Ohh wow!! Now this is something new!! :)

fullmontis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Wow, this is an easy 5 stars in innovation. Very nice idea.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Great idea, I have never seen a well implemented vr, I hope to continue to work and go to the masses.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:07pm

good idea!

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:23pm

This is very very original. I'm gonna show this to all the people at work. The only issue I had is that the picture was blurry (camera out of focus) so QR codes were not correctly recognized. But if I was able to focus, it would've been even better. I am impressed.

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:37pm

@KaiseanGames thank you that is the best compliment I could ever hope for and totally brightened my day! The full page QR codes (in the drop box) work a lot better and less fiddly to use. The larger pages also help massively with camera focus.

the game works on both scales (single page of QR codes | 1 page per QR codes), but I wouldn't mingle the size scales in the game.

*I shouldn't have used QR codes, because they are very similar to each other but it is much easier to explain to someone with QR codes. If a qr codes matches a 3D model incorrectly you can "reset" it by covering it then reshowing it to the camera.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:58am

Great idea and nicely implemented. Congrats on your first Ludum Dare :)

LeReveur says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Nice idea, I would have test it if I can. ;)

Starspell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:29am

I couldn't wait to try this game. Unfortunately after installing it on my Android tablet it wasn't working. All I could see when playing was a black screen so it didn't seem to be interfacing with my tablet's camera correctly.

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:27am

@Starspell If you are compiling from source it has to be unity 5.2.2f1 (32 bit) with no deviation. 64 bit or newer versions will produce a black screen with button on-top of where video should be. What tablet are you using ill see if I can patch and update for you.

I tested on Galaxy S4, Dragon touch x10 tablet, Huawei Ascend II, and Acer tablet iconia a1 (Device I own and handy to test with).

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:37am

I want to learn to do the same game!

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:56am

I want to learn to do the same game!

Great, Mexico! :)

purrpurr says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Made me dust off and set up an old printer! Time really well spent =) So I just grew plants in an AR.. they died.. 10/10 for realism. Just wished innovation went up to 10 stars.

redmassacre says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:09pm

game was crashing in my note 3 %(
so i enjoyed this in educational mode
very unusual idea - thank you for this %)

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:38pm

I love ideas which are different, thanks.

You commented on my game: I now set the video to public! Oops ;)

miwuc says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Cool app! But watering didn't seem to be working for me (I tried everything I could think of, nothing ever happened) so I'm not rating. Still I wanted to say that I played it with Cardboard and it was really cool!

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:23am

@miwuc Thank you for trying it out :)

(I'm new to unity so I coded it the way I knew how)
Watering plants grows them slowly and not an immediate affect. The watering can uses an invisible ray-cast instead of particles to water plants. So the water stream is a guide line but is just an illusion. The watering can, sometimes clips inside the collision box of the plant and will not register if too close.

*In game mode the smaller plant makes it more difficult to hit, educational mode should be much easier.


This should help you :) (there is no technical reason for watering not to work)

hpearson2 says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 2:58am

Thank you everyone so much!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]